Well, 2pm Saturday arrived and I was informed the kids were on the bus coming to visit. I had time to shower and change and get to the bus station.

Emmylee, in one week she'll be five.

Eventually they arrived. Emerson and Emmylee. It was Emmylee’s first visit, she was ecstatic and leapt into my arms. After hugs we had to go shoe-shopping; that was preordained.

I had always figured that shopping with a girl or woman was difficult and time consuming, but I hadn’t reckoned on Emerson. Seven shops before we found one that had shoes that he liked. Emmylee was a breeze, she saw, she tried, she liked, I bought. It was a treat for her because it was the first real pair of new shoes she’s had since a baby. Mum has only been able to buy second-hand or donated shoes. So Emmylee went home this afternoon in a pair of white sneakers with pink trim.

After the shopping expedition we got home and joined the BBQ at the botequim, it was Raimundo’s birthday, we ate and drank and Emmylee discovered the swings in the park. After lots of swinging we convinced her to come home for pizza and then I got the complaint. “Dad, you haven’t got any toys!” Yes, well, I am a bit old for toys. So paper, scissors, sellotape and a pencil were provided; that’s as close as you get to toys around here. But, it was sufficient to keep a nearly-five-year-old busy for the evening until bedtime.

Early to rise, Emerson was playing football for the first time with the local team. One piece of leftover pizza, coffee and he was ready. Emmylee was content with the cartoons on TV until she remembered paper and scissors. I look around the floor and there are still minibits of paper everywhere. Later we went out to the park and she swung and she was still swinging when Emerson arrived back.

We had the second pizza and icecream for lunch and they readied themselves for home. Emmylee proudly in her new shoes.

Football. I watched two games, the second was Flamengo vs Atletico Paranense, Atletico won, 2-1, not impressed. Flamengo is slipping further down the table and no longer in the 5 best teams in the Brasileirão competition.

Bill paid and home. I started to watch the Sunday programme Fantastico, a lot about the 9/11, I began do drift off and decided bed was the best place which is why this didn’t get posted last night.

