Yes, Saturday is the middle of my weekend.I have decided that as a stately gentleman of 60, one should have the luxury of three-day weekends. Mine starts on Friday as my last lessons for the week are Thursday night.

So, what have I done this weekend?

Yesterday, nothing; today (so far), nothing; plans for tomorrow, nothing and I expect it to be a successful weekend.

G 'n' T

I include blogging in the nothing category. Nothing actually implies anything out of the ordinary. I will have to go water my plants they are wilting in the sun and low humidity. Yesterday we got the rain that has been promised since last Monday. It was so brief and so little that I could almost count every raindrop. So much for thunderstorms today as well, hot and dry. Having said that, I need a gin & tonic as I am having a beerless weekend.

Sometime in the next two days, at least it has been estimated that it will happened before Monday, 31st October. The world will have gained its 7,000,000,000th person. I find that rather startling, the exponential growth of the human species is a disaster for mankind.

In just 12 years we have added another billion

 

 

I read recently that the planet can support a maximum of 500 million and retain its sustainability; i.e. Mother Nature’s balance. But we have interfered with her equation to such an extent that we have doomed ourselves to extinction. Yes, our extinction is no longer a matter of maybe, it is guaranteed. How have we unbalanced the scales so much? Simply we do not let people die. People (and some very notable scientists amongst them) have said the birthrate is too high. That’s pure unadulterated bollocks, the birthrate is perfect; Mother Nature designed that so it is perfect. What man has done behind Mother nature’s back has been to extend the life of many individuals so that less people are dying than she planned.

Have you ever wondered why we have global warming, worsening hurricanes, more earthquakes, resistant diseases and the like? Mother Nature is trying to balance the equation.

Imagine that the planet is like a dog, we are the fleas and Mother Nature is simply having a good scratch.

John Smith to Morpheus in Matrix

You want another analogy:

I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species, and I realised that humans are not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment; but you humans do not. Instead you multiply, and multiply, until every resource is consumed. The only way for you to survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern… a virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer on this planet, you are a plague, and we… are the cure.

I happen to think that is so true, mankind is the virus on this planet.

I think I need another G & T

