But I was awake, ready.

Nothing, the damned rooster disappointed me. I wondered whether my neighbour had taken my idea seriously and had grilled chicken. It was raining, maybe the damned bird doesn’t cock-a-doodle-do in the rain.

It reminded me of a joke from high school… What’s the difference between a rooster and a prostitute?

One goes cock-a-doodle-doo, and the other goes any-cock’ll-do… Yes, we told those jokes in high school; it was funny back then. You had to be there.

There’s another one ——–>

Proof that Mondays have a cog loose. I arrived at work at the appointed hour, checked my diary and discovered that I had moved the lesson to Wednesday and had two hours for my next, left a note on the board.

So I went home.

Not only did Monday ‘Fail!’ but Saturday and Sunday weren’t so good either.

Saturday morning I decided that I should have that traditional British stalwart, marmalade, on toast to go with my coffee.I love marmalade and it’s so rare to find it in Brazil, and when you do, it’s expensive.

Now, I was blogging at the time. Lesson learned long ago, blogging and cooking aren’t good bed companions. But, I’m a man, do I learn? LOL not on your life.

Slabs of Charcoal

The result was that I had two slabs of charcoal. Now, I thought, what can I use two slabs of charcoal for. Surprisingly, I didn’t have any immediate use for two fresh slabs of charcoal, and in hindsight, I couldn’t ever remembered having needed two slabs of charcoal before.

But then I didn’t waste them. On to the compost heap. Now most people would throw them in the trash, that would be a waste. Read my Monday Moan if you want a story on compost and my free tomatoes.

The week didn’t end there. Sunday I made a fresh thermos of coffee, wonderful black Brazilian coffee. I am usually pretty good at making coffee; the recipe is simple and hard to fail.

I failed!

I had made crap coffee, I’ve done it before, rarely, but even a chef can manage occasionally. Sometimes I really surpass myself. I don’t know what I did, probably miscounted the spoonfuls of coffee, four instead of five. But did I throw it out? No way, throw away a whole days coffee ration just because it’s crap. I’m drinking a cup now…  the last one.

Even if I had done this in the restaurant, it wouldn’t have been suitable for diners, the staff would have got it. Waste not, want not. Oh, they would have bitched, but I would simply remind them that it was free, if they want good coffee go out front and pay for it.

Trials and tribulations.

Later

 

