I had a sudden thought today. Now, normally when I think, it gets dangerous, but in this case not.

During my travels here in South America I have seen much. A case of ‘been there, done that.’ I have decided to reveal some of my favourite places via Sunday Travel Tales.

The photos aren’t mine (unfortunately, mine have all been lost over time); I have accredited where possible.

Purmamarca

Purmamarca is a small town just off the main highway, not far north of San Salvador de Jujuy in Argentina. It’s one claim to fame is the Cerro de siete colores (The Hill of Seven Colours).

Behind the small pueblo (village) is a remarkable hill that shows off seven different coloured strata. It’s visible when you look up some of the pueblo side streets.

Cerro de siete colores

Selling everything from icecream to sounenirs

The rich reds, greens and browns provide a beautiful backdrop.

The main income from the pueblo is the sale of souvenirs to tourists.

Nearly every tour that goes through here from  San Salvador de Jujuy through the Quebrada de Humahuaca (Humahuaca Gorge) towards Humahuaca and the Bolivian border stops here, some even choose this as a stop over.

The next picture is from Harlystas Selvagens.

High above the village

