Today's impressive display

Yup, today we had stormy weather. It pissed down!

I had a lesson until 11am when my student msg me to cancel. Half an hour later it began to rain with thunder and lightning, then it rained a bit more, and continued raining. It came down in buckets flooding my humble backyard.

Boy was I glad my student canceled.

The storm lasted more than an hour, the wind blew the rain under the doors into my living room and kitchen.

Just as suddenly as it started the sun came out.

5pm I eventually cooked lunch and went to the botequim for a beer and ciggies. Now I am home again for the evening and already there is thunder and lightning as more rain threatens.

St Francis of Assisi Church in Ouro Preto

But the damage was not only here. In the south of Brazil 90% of this years grape harvest was destroyed yesterday by hail and in the state of Minas Gerais (north of Rio) winds and rain destroyed and threatened historic buildings, including the famous St Francis Church in Ouro Preto.

The weather forecast tonight tells us this is not the end of the story; promises of a stormy weekend.

The extremes of weather here in Brazil are worsening with every passing year. It may not be global warming, but there are certainly major changes in the weather of the world.

That’s it for now. I am going to adopt a horizontal position on the sofa and watch the rest of the news and then a programme on the Pantanal.

Later.

 

 

