*Checks spelling*

Well, don’t want any misunderstandings, do we?

Christmas Day was cool and cloudy, last night it began raining and is still doing so. Makes a change from the previous week when we were battering the door of 40 (104F) and on Friday it opened. Thursday and Friday nights were terrible trying to get to sleep, up a number of times to have a cold shower and back to bed sopping wet under the fan allowing nature and the laws of refrigeration to take effect.

Must have evaporated through the hole in the top

Christmas Eve I spent at the botequim chatting with friends, wishing all and sundry a Merry Christmas and making serious inroads into a bottle of Passport scotch. The bottle must have had a hole in it, because the contents seemed to evaporate. So, there was only one solution, I trudged the 11 metres to my house and got one of the bottles of Argentine Merlot that I had had the forethought to put on ice, that was shared and then I trudged all the way home again, for the second bottle. So, that was how Christmas Eve passed for me, quietly.

Christmas Day here in Brazil, is pretty much an ordinary day. The family celebrations, ceia de natal, mainly over by 2am. There’s not a lot left for Brazilians to do. Had it been hot, families would have merely gone to the beach, as it wasn’t, they didn’t. Instead the kids were out in force in the praça flying kites. I blogged, napped and blogged some more, then the botequim beckoned. I had an outstanding bottle of Bohemia beer paid for by Jorge, one of my neighbours the day before, so I took advantage.

Today, of course, is Monday. Had I still been in NZ, it would have been Boxing Day. Brazilians don’t have Boxing Day, so it’s a normal back to work day.

I was due to have a lesson at 2pm, but a timely email absolved me from that necessity. You see my student lives in Resende (a little more than an hour from Rio) and works at the factory there, but he is doing a training course during the week in the local factory and studying English here. He couldn’t get a taxi today for work. I was immediately saddened, but then I glanced out the window at the rain and I wasn’t so sad anymore. Time for more coffee…

Later

