Yes, that’s what I’m doing today…

Being another four days between posts, it would appear that I don’t do shit any day.

Last post Monday; and today’s Friday, what happened to the rest of the week?

I have been busy, been posting daily on most blogs, just not here. Change the World Wednesday started again this week and I wrote a  pretty good post on Eco-Crap for the first one of the year. Basically, that everyone’s not doing shit.

Statue in Praça do Russel, Gloria, RJ

Today is Dia de São Sebastião (St Sebastian’s Day). For us in Rio de Janeiro it’s a public holiday, because he is the State’s saint. That’s another reason not to do shit, it’s a public holiday.

Last St Sebastian’s Day I admitted that I didn’t really know who St Sebastian was.

BRB

Well, there ya go… He was a Christian saint and a martyr. Apparently he died twice, that’s worthy of sainthood if nothing else is.

The first time, as most depictions show, he was tied to a post and shot with arrows. I guess he got the point. But he was rescued by Irene of Rome and healed. Not having learned his lesson the fist time, once he was healed he harangued the emperor as he passed the house and this time he was beaten to death. It seems that Irene of Rome had a previous engagement and was not there for a second resurrection, but she was martyred herself some time later.

Aren’t Google and Wikipedia just wonderful? Bugger these SOPA and PIPA thingies, they’d take all the fun out of the net. I hope you all signed the petitions.

So I refrain from making the same gaffe today as I did last year.

Red Spotted Newt

A Newt is a slimy amphibian with toxins, pretty much the same as a politician of the same name.

The Red-Spotted Newt is actually quite a handsome beast, which cannot be said of the Flabby-Jowled Newt that is found drooling around caucuses and primaries; that Newt will neither be sainted nor martyred… pilloried maybe.

Doesn’t he get his nuts in a twist when he doesn’t get his own way; very puerile. Maybe he should talk to his tailor about his dressing, then his nuts mightn’t be so twisted.

Moving right along as this is not a political blog, I will not wax politic. But I thought that worth mentioning as I had tweeted about it yesterday because I thought it a rather funny comparison, albeit true.

I had a leisurely breakfast of bacon, eggs and stewed tomatoes on toast this morning at 2pm.

Yes, that confirms holidays are wonderful, breakfast at two in the afternoon.

*Looking at digital clock*

I see that it is beer o’clock again. One mustn’t be tardy.

So, I will off and pay my dues.

Later.

