Indeed. Sometimes it is necessary to take precautionary measures. It is deemed an essential  military tactic and serves well in Civvy Street. For those of you who are not in-the-know Civvy Street is where you go after military service, or in my case a career; I feel that 21 years dedication to the military to be a career. Most of you would simply call it ‘Life.” Civvy Street then is anything NOT-military, or ‘normal,’ if you like. Although, I maintain my stance and defy you to define ‘normal.’

So today I took precautionary measures. I opened the ‘new post’ here before I went to play. Playing today involved several of the more leisurely aspects of life. I walked to the local mini-market which is good exercise when one’s buttons tend to fly off their pants and hit the opposite wall; a sure sign that one is suffering from a condition known as over-weight. It was during said perambulation, which takes about a half hour that I formulated a dastardly plan: lunch.

The original idea was to get some mincemeat (ground beef for our American cousins) for Lixo, because he has been rather a good kitteh and didn’t complain when I got him puppy food instead of kitteh food. The good news is that he didn’t begin to bark, and although he didn’t complain, he certainly let me know he was a tad miffed.

As I was saying, dastardly plan. The mini-market has a small butchery department, hence I was able to purchase freshly minced meat, it also has good quality contrafile (rump steak), today it was beautifully marbled with a rich edge of fat; two inch-thick slabs fell across the scales at my bidding, along with ½kg (about a pound) of  liver and a kilo of chicken wings.

My dastardly plan was taking shape.

Gulf Fritillary on my passionfruit

On my arrival home Lixo was in the process of antagonising a Gulf Fritillary butterfly, which he duly ate.

Passionfruit have such beautifully stunning  flowers and one insidious pest. the Gulf Fritillary butterfly whose caterpillars destroy the vine.

He deserved a reward, a dollop of fresh mincemeat.

He watched with interest as I prepared the BBQ, having never seen this before it was a life-learning experience. It was as I was waiting for the charcoal to take that he lay in the middle of the kitchen floor, which he has discovered is the best place to observe the toings & froings of the kitchen; and provides an excellent chance that the staff will trip over said cat.

NOT traditional Garlic Bread

The rump steak was salted, garlicked and soyaed. The extraneous feathers plucked from the chicken wings (oh, how I hate them) before the garlic and salt treatment. The liver suffered chopped onions and rock salt. More garlic was chopped and mixed with parsley before being mashed into a slab of butter prior to making garlic bread from my old bread.

Now garlic bread is normally made form some type of roll or other, but I had sliced bread going to waste. I try not to waste.

BBQing done, lunch was served. I took my tray to the botequim, got my customary Bohemia beer and shared my lunch, complete with homemade pickled onions with the other freguês (patrons, regulars).

Three bottles later (one more than my normal two) I waddled off home replete. Good company, good lunch, great beer, what more could one wish for on a very hot Saturday afternoon. And Lixo… oh, he’s happy, he’s got leftovers and his happily snoozing on my our his bed.

Now it’s time for the news.

Later.

