Yes, I know it’s Wednesday, I know it’s not Monday which is when I should have been writing.

I am not even sure if this will in fact be a post.

This maybe just a figment of your imagination.

If you can read this, then you’ve got a good imagination, because I am still debating whether or not to write it.

This week is screwed. Split days, which means I get to go to work twice. If you have to go to work once a day and think that’s bad, try split days and go twice.

Rats! Well, rat, actually. Monday I woke at my customary bladder summoning hour for relief. The drain cover in the shower had been popped, which meant I had a visitor; a rat. It was returning through the kitchen that I spied it race behind the stove. I thought great, I now have a cat. I got Lixo from the living room where he was preening and planted him before the stove and banged on the side. The rat appeared.

The rat looked at Lixo, Lixo looked at the rat.

It was a granddaddy of rats, low sleek and dark grey mottled sodden fur having not long ago appeared from my sewerage. From nose to tail the rat was as long as my cat.

The two beasts, the rat and my stalwart guardian of the house against rodents, looked at each other.

Lixo then looked up at me… “WTF is that?” was how I interpreted the quizzical look on his face.

It was at this moment the rat decided to make his escape through the front door that I had already opened.

Lixo merely watched him go. Then looked up at me again, “Has it really gone?” was how I interpreted this perplexed look.

da Meow RIP - He was poisoned

Lixo needs to grow a bit before being expected to deal with such leviathans.

Had it been da Meow the rat would have been dispatched in the blink of an eye. da Meow was a ratter, he used to go hunting them along the canal beside the boteqim, one or two a day, then munch on them under Raimundo’s car to the bemusement of the regulars in the botequim.

da Meow often bore scars of his ratting forays, like the bite near his right eye in the photo.

My little Lixo needs to grow, at least until he’s bigger than a rat himself.

Now it’s football time. Flamengo vs Lanús of Argentina.

Later

