Not a bright moment

It didn’t actually happen, although, I was looking for the corkscrew…

I had grabbed a bottle of St. Germaine Assemblage (Cuvée), whipped off the foil cap, and went to look for my corkscrew. Then it dawned on me that in my haste I hadn’t noted it had a screw-top. It was the first that I had seen on a bottle of wine; so I could have been excused if I had.

If I had really been in a hurry, dying of thirst, maybe I could well have fallen into this diabolical trap.

It also got me to thinking… WTF is wrong with a cork?

Recently many corks have been replaced by a spongy cork-coloured blob; and I thought that was cheap. Now there is screw-tops, nah, I have resolved not to buy a screw-top bottle of wine again.

I am a traditionalist. I don’t take to changes kindly. I like things the way were. There is very little in this world that is classed as ‘progress,’ that I find is actually better than it used to be. In the main, technology is a crock o’shit! ‘Progress’ really means, “we have found a faster, cheaper, more lucrative way to do something.” It doesn’t matter if you are talking about screw-tops on wine bottles or shoes. Show me a pair of shoes that lasted as long as the ones did 40 or 50 years ago. See, cant. When my mother bought shoes, they lasted until we grew out of them, then they were passed on to my little brother, and they lasted until he grew out of them, then they were passed on to cousins or neighbours. But today, I have to buy a pair of shoes each year, whether they were grown out of or not; they are in tatters.

Generally goods are designed to last only until the guarantee has expired, then you find they can’t be fixed, because the part that broke, collapsed, burnt-out, etc is only available to the manufacturer; you can’t buy it. You are forced to buy a new one. It doesn’t matter if you are talking about LCD monitors or cars, the result is the same. We are being held ransom by the corporations to buy, buy, buy, spend, spend, spend, simply so they can make more money. I am not complaining that a company or business has to make money; I am complaining about the abusive way they do it.

1950 Rotrax JAP Speedway, National Motor Museum Monorail in Beaulieu - Photo from Wikipedia

In the 1920s there were motorcycle engines designed by John Alfred Prestwich (JAP), they were used in AJWs and Cotton motorcycles, as well as early aircraft and cars like the Morgan. They came in many sizes, including  500cc and 600cc single cylinder for motorcycles. Fifty years later (1970s) these engines were still being used on the world’s speedway track at World Championship levels, by riders like Barry Briggs, Ronny Moore, etc. Then the advent of the Japanese engines (not to be confused with JAPs) as used by Ivan Mauger and the newer champions. These engines didn’t last five years. The newer engines simply weren’t the same quality.

The world is really in a sorry state. I wrote about the social fabric becoming threadbare this morning on a post Cotton Wool Culture. It’s about parenting, but more importantly it’s about kids and the way ‘progress’ has kept them from nature, the outdoors producing a pack of wimps and sooks.

Homemade, not bought

Right now, I am thinking about lunch. Weinerschnitzel. Homemade, not bought. I refuse to buy things like this in the supermarket. There are two reasons, firstly, you have no idea of the quality of the meat, secondly, it’s so easy to make it at home.

To prepare schnitzel at home takes you all of five minutes. It takes you nearly that long to open a supermarket pack.

I usually buy a slab of rump steak. From it I cut my own schnitzels and inch thick steak, so I know the quality of the meat. I’m having mine today with salad (to use leftovers) and fried whole garlic cloves. I know you’re probably thinking “Oh the bafo de alho!” Garlic breath… but garlic cooked like this doesn’t have the same effect, even less so if you roast whole garlic bulbs.

Well, lunchtime…

Later.

