Some thoughts on Cusco

I quickly discovered that I could get my shoes shined by an urchin about twenty times a day, whether they needed it or not, I could buy postcards from a gaily costumed Qechua girls by the thousand, or have my photo taken ad nauseum with equally costumed families, who plied the streets with their similarly decorated animals.

I came to realise, Cusco existed today for the tourist and those who preyed on them to eke out an existance. At first it was unnerving to be attacked so ferociously by these Lilliputian street sellers. The local city guards tried in vain to shoo these kids from the plaza, but as they cleared one side, the kids invaded the other, and so it became a neverending game of hide ‘n’ seek. The kids were the clear winners, leaving the guards exasperated by the end of the day.

NB: An excerpt from an English grammar book I am writing. Yes, it is advanced English, very advanced.

