A keyboard alone does not a post write

Yes, I have. Thursday I had an excuse for not posting because it was pay day, but yesterday was more a case of procrastination. I had all good intentions, but good intentions do not a post write. At least not without some help from the keyboard and fingers to push the buttons.

I love that Steampunk keyboard.

Actually, I wasted a lot of time yesterday. I found a great site to explore, and explore I did; all bloody afternoon. Seems like a waste of time, but not. Sometimes you find a site/blog that just begs you to be there, stay, devour everything. Actually, it was a site a bit like my blog Bullshit Corner. I hope you’ve already been there, but if you haven’t you are derelict in your duty.

A cat conversation…

Yesterday afternoon, when I wasn’t exploring this great site, I was napping; and upon waking decided I should get desmellified. Lixo watched me undress and as I headed for the bedroom door, he stopped in mid-stride in the doorway. Hence, unwittingly he got a swift kick in his fluffy nuts, I couldn’t help it, I was in mid-stride, I was committed to completing the movement or end up in a pile on the floor.

Without taking umbrage, he headed for the front door and looked askance as I headed in the other direction.

“Stupid cat,” I found myself saying, “I can’t go outside, I haven’t got any fur on!”

Then, I thought to myself, what did I just say? If my readers knew that I talked to my cat about not having my fur on, they would be in no doubt as to my sanity.

Now, one thing in my life, I have never professed to be sane, not even normal. I tried being normal once; it was so boring that I became myself again.

Yesterday (7th) was Brazilian Independence Day. Which meant it was beer o’clock all day. I didn’t, I never do, although I did have a bottle during the second half of the Brazil vs South Africa game which ended up satisfactorily after a non-event first half, 1-0.

The best thing about Independence Day was Dilma Rousseff’s televised speech the night before that the domestic tariff for electricity would be reduced 16.2% from January. That means I will have a whopping R$9 cut from my average power bill. The blonde bimbo that calls herself president really hasn’t got two brain cells to rub together, but to giver her her dues,  she has managed to crack down on some of the government corruption that is holding the country steady in it’s Third World status. But she made the mistake in her speech by reiterating that Brazil was immune from the coming world financial collapse (proof of her blond bimbo status). I think she watches Fox News.

Carmen Lucia abandoning her stepdaughter at the rubbish dump

By the end of the day, I was so tired that I went to bed early, 8:45. I didn’t even watch Avenida Brasíl, a novela (soap opera) about the evil Carmen Lucia (left played by Adriana Esteves) who dumped her stepdaughter in the Gramacho rubbish tip after the death of her husband. Rita, the stepdaughter (r) grew up and now in her early twenties is reeking havoc in the household, that the cuckoo Carmen Lucia insinuated herself like a leech, in her blind obsession for revenge. A very convoluted story, although in someways predictable.

Last night was also, the last episode of the 6pm novela, Amor, Eterno, Amor (Love, Eternal, Love) which is the other novela I follow. The one that starts on Monday also looks like a good one; a period piece from the days when slavery ended in Brazil.

So, I spent Independence Day here at the keyboard and talking to my cat.

Today, I am doing much the same. Now I must get something out of the freezer for lunch, that will avoid the necessity of putting on my pants and going to the supermarket.

Later.

