I am totally numb after last night, so totally, that I have switched off.

It has nothing to do with the three gin & tonics I had yesterday afternoon, nor the beers that followed.

We had music in the praça last night, lots and lots of very loud music.

The botequim had the Boa da Samba van again; I wrote about this on my recent post An Idyllic Thursday. Normally when this van comes along, I escape for more peaceful climes, like a good restaurant, but last night I was skint. This public holiday lark plays havoc with ones finances, hence the skintedness.

So, I figured, it wouldn’t hurt to spend one night listening to the music. It started around 6pm, I couldn’t hear the TV, I couldn’t hear my mother on the phone, the bass reverberated through the house; by 7pm I had a thumping headache. I tried going for a walk to sit on the other side of the park, that was no relief, so back home. All the windows were shut, Lixo was confused because even his ‘cat-window’ was closed. By 9:30, I was praying (remember I am an atheist) the music would stop at 10pm as programmed and that they wouldn’t do encore after encore.

10:03pm, peace and quiet. It was so quiet you could hear the silence.

NOT this Axe

During the week, I saw an interesting Tweet regarding the masculine deodorant Axe by a girl. “The only way you’ll conquer a girl with Axe, would be to spray it in her eyes to incapacitate her!” I don’t use Axe, it is beyond my price range, but it made me wonder if that was really the case for a lot of perfumes.

Quite frankly, I hate perfumes and makeup, and high heels and breast implants, and sexy lingerie and body piercings; in fact there’s not much about the world of female fashions that I do like. I like my women to be natural, nude is far more sexy than lace.

Last week I also saw an interesting ad on TV, shampoo that has caffeine… Now what would I want shampoo with caffeine for (apart from the fact that I’m bald)? You’d lie in bed trying to get to sleep and you can’t because your hair wants to get up and play! Stupid pratts!

They really do produce some useless shit.

Two days until the US elections. I am waiting to see how stupid Americans really are.

You have a choice between Obama, who has destroyed all meaning of the Constitution; and Romney who has back peddled so many times that he doesn’t know if he’s coming or going.

In my opinion, if you vote for the Democraps or the Repugnicans, you’re a fool. There are other options for intelligent people.

Sigh! But we all know what is going to happen.

I’ll be back later with a Travel post, this post was actually meant for yesterday but with the thunderous music last night that just wasn’t possible.

 

