When I was a kid, about 11 or so, my mother had me off to take speech therapy lessons because I talked fast. Didn’t work, because it was a case of my mouth trying to work as fast as my brain. I have posted about this before. But the one thing I remember was having to repeat endless nonsensical phrases like, “The rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain.” Well, that may be the case, but today it’s falling in my backyard; buckets of the bloody stuff, and it’s cold.

Lixo and Lady

Lixo and Lady in the front yard

Lixo has lost his Lady love.

Last week someone in the neighbourhood spread poison around, resulting in the deaths of five dogs and two cats, all pets. The two cats were Lady and Fred. Lady wasn’t mine, not sure who the owners were, but she came from down the alley beside the bar. Fred is the Tom of friends and constant antagonist of Lixo who was the younger Tom in the neighbourhood. With Fred’s demise he has now risen in seniority. But it was Lady, Lixo’s mate that was also poisoned. The pair caused endless amusement in the bar by screwing on the veranda of the bar. I got the blame for not educating them properly.  My reply was that they’ve never seen me screwing on the veranda, so they didn’t learn it from me! Lady was really quite a trollop, she’d lay herself flat in front of Lixo and raise her butt right under his nose. I mean what’s a fella to do? <—– Rhetorical question.

It’s sad that people resort to this kind of thing. The neighbourhood is ready to lynch them if and when they discover who it was because it’s not the first time, but the third. Both Meow Meow and da Meow, my two previous cats succumbed, this time Lixo was lucky. *Touch wood*

If this rain keeps up, I will get wet going to work this afternoon. It began yesterday during beer o’clock. Only had time for one beer to celebrate St Paddy’s Day, then the drops got heavier, so I watched the second half of the the football from the comparative comfort of my sofa. It has rained heavily since, more than 18 hours.

Must blog along.

Later.

