roadsuccesscoffeeWell, if that’s true…

I am doomed to very successful!

60+ years and waiting…

With what does one measure success?

Money?

Happiness?

Other?

For me it’s happiness. I am successful.

Oh sure I have had my ups and downs in life, but generally I’d have to say I have been successful.

I mean take this morning for example, breakfast was a success, I am a happy camper. I had a Muffuletta for breakfast.

Muffuletta - something like this

Muffuletta – something like this

Oh, you’ve never had a Muffuletta?

Well, it’s supposed to be a sesame bun, it’s a famous dish from Sicily, and was taken to New Orleans by Italian immigrants, but otherwise unknown outside of there.

“The muffuletta is the quintessential New Orleans sandwich of cured meats, cheese and tangy olive salad piled onto a sturdy Italian loaf. Emeril Lagasse’s delicious muffuletta is packed with briny olives and pickled vegetables.”Food & Wine

I didn’t have any fancy bread buns, but I had some left-over hamburger buns; beggars can’t be choosers. I cut it in three, makes for easier stacking with whatever I find in the fridge. This morning I found: cold pork chop, ham, leftover chicken with mustard sauce, bacon, lettuce, pickled beetroot, olives, brie, mustard and balsamic salad dressing. Couldn’t go wrong!

The rain stopped, and I got to work dry last night. Then I went out for pizza

This morning the rain has continued stopped, the sun is shining and there is a passarinho (little bird of unknown specie) chirping insanely in my yard.

Brazilian kids generally don’t know the names of bird species, it’s a failing in Brazilian society and the education system. To them, all little birds are passarinhos. When I was a kid, we knew all the names of the birds that frequented our yard; thrushes, blackbirds, sparrows, goldfinches, magpies, etc. But ask a Brazilian kid what type of bird is that…. “É um passarinho” (It’s a little bird). In this case, I do not know the name of the specie, but it is the same as Raimundo (owner of the botequim nextdoor) has in a cage and as I am still in my underpants, I am not about to race nextdoor to ask. Please do not attempt the visual!

Apart from blogging, which I have almost completed for the day, I have nothing planned, so again I suspect I will be successful. Whenever I mention to Raimundo that I have nothing planned, he always asks me if I need some help.

Today, I think I will go and help him. He has beer that needs drinking…

beerthirty

Later.

