day-offSo, bite me!

Many would say that bloggers don’t deserve a day off, but we do. We are hard working people, dedicated and most of us even have real jobs that we have to squeeze in between our blogosphere rantings.

I managed a Caturday post and two coffees before my students arrived for their allotted two hours, then an hour later, another student rang to confirm a previously arranged invitation to yet another students birthday BBQ, he would be around in 15 minutes.

Panic!

He arrived with family in the car and after an hour we arrived a couple of suburbs away in Bangu and found the right place. It was a sitio (basically a large property with all the trappings one needs for a big party outdoors). There were aviaries with exotic chickens, a swimming pool and a football field.

The pavillion, we arrived before many of the other guests

The pavillion, we arrived before many of the other guests

My student was there for a reason, he was the churrasqueiro (BBQer), and unwittingly I, by default, became the assistant BBQer. Together we were the directoria (managers) and thus secured various privileges, like our glasses were never empty and we got the juiciest tidbits from the grill.

BBQer and Junior Assistant lighting the BBQ

BBQer and Junior Assistant lighting the BBQ

We also had a Junior Assistant. The Junior Assistant’s main duty was playing on the pula pula (jump jump – the kids trampoline) and eating.

Junior Assistant shows us how to eat a chicken wing correctly

Junior Assistant shows us how to eat a chicken wing correctly

While the Junior Assistant was attending to the pula pula, we had the BBQ going nicely.

bbqbbq

BBQ going nicely

So that’s what a blogger does on a day off.

Today, is the first Mother’s Day that I can only think about her and not be able to wish her a Happy Mother’s Day in person. It is on such days that I am reminded that Mother is no longer there and leaves a great hole.

I read a great story today on another blog, Where’s my Sparkly? If you need a lighter moment, hop across and have a read.

And, on another blog (my first visit there) Audio Sexxx, I learned about ‘eargasms’.

Later, it’s lunch time.

