Old boiler

Old boiler

There are times when I feel like an old boiler, sitting here at the keyboard slowly rusting.

I don’t get out and about much, and the feeling of being a hermit flashes across my mind; not often but it has flashed and while it doesn’t induce feelings of despondency, nor lead to depression (can’t understand depression, but then I drink coffee) it does make me think.

I do get out of the house, sometimes I have to force myself, even if it is just to the botequim (local bar) next door. I don’t go there to drown my sorrows, that’s for fools, I go for the fresh air, for a gaze over the park, or a chat.

Like yesterday, I poked my nose out the gate and there at the bar was a good friend whom I hadn’t seen for months. Grace had had a cancer operation on the throat, and even though I pass her house everyday on the way to work, I had only seen her once. So it was a pleasant surprise to see her at the botequim again; our chatting started basically where we had left of months ago, except over fresher beer.

Fire in the Hole!

Grace and her friend left, and I began to chat with another pair sitting at the table at the other end of the veranda. One of whom I had seen before, the other, never. The younger woman was quite chatty, much younger than my foggy years, quite comely in fact, making nothing more of the thought as we talked. The younger woman was in fact a little older than my initial estimate, early/mid twenties; she was actually 31, which made her exactly half my age.

Maybe twenty minutes passed and the older woman had to go and they made to leave. It was about then when I became confused. I stood to get another beer, and some how the woman was in my arms as we said good bye… her saying she’d be back in ten minutes.

I sat nursing my beer, trying to make sense of things, and within a Brazilian woman’s 10 minutes, she was back.

fireintheboiler

Fire in the boiler

Nice.

But I have been single for five years, I haven’t been paquerando (hunting) for some time, and I was out of my depth.

Maybe there’s fire in the old boiler yet?

Now I sit here still trying to make sense of the afternoon.

Any way, that’s why you didn’t get a post yesterday, affairs of the boiler (I’m too old to have a heart).

Moving right along.

Neymar 1 - Japan - 0

Neymar 1 – Japan – 0

Today is the kick off for the Confederation’s Cup, yes football. Brazil vs Japan in Brasilia, the capital. TV is full of it, hype, interviews, opinions from the street, coverage of the demonstration over the cost of the event. Palpites (estimates of the result) between 3-3 and 0-0, one even guessed Neymar 1 – Japan 0. Neymar is probably Brazil’s No.1 up and coming star, just having been signed on for Barcelona.

So it’s big business. Games starts at 4pm, that’s a couple of hours away.

The hype all happens again tomorrow, Italy vs Mexico here in the revamped Maracanã.

I have had lunch, a heavy beef curry on rice. Now I suppose I should get out of my pyjamas and go along to the bar to see what’s happening.

Later.

