funny-cell-phones-vs-old-telephonesApparently so did ours, not that I believe that. I don’t believe we evolved from apes, nor do I believe in the God-driven seven day wonder plan.

I’m not arguing against evolution, that happens alright, it’s just that I don’t believe that we are a part of the evolutionary chain on ‘this’ planet.

I have espoused this theory before, not sure if on this blog or not; probably on They Say it’s in the Genes. I’ll check later.

Yesterday, I got my money, I paid my bills, I came home with no money. It’s a never-ending cycle. I did have a great sushi lunch; my first for three months and I bought some Lea & Perrin’s Worcestershire Sauce. Fish ‘n chips just aren’t the same without it.

amatua-valley-marlborough-sauvignon-blanc-2011I had vowed on my Eco-Crap blog that this week I wouldn’t buy any non-essentials… I failed. While in the wine shop buying the L&P I saw a bottle of New Zealand wine, a rarity here in Brazil and as I wouldn’t be passing that way again for a month, I wanted the bottle to help me with birthday celebrations.

It was reasonably priced when compared with other NZ wines I have seen here. R$59, whereas I have never seen a similar bottle under R$100 before.

A detracting feature was the screwtop instead of the traditional cork, maybe that was why it was so cheap. Had it been any other wine, it would have stayed on the shelf.

The wine looks very clear in the green tinted bottle, I hope it tastes better than it looks… kind of reminiscent of kerosene.

One of my pet hates. Brands. I read a blog this morning supporting Calvin Kleine and other such brands. I had ‘Liked’ a different post and was tempted to go back and ‘Unlike’ it, but I had closed the link before I had a chance. I find that all this ‘branding’ is one of the great evils of our society. Are we that vain that we must have the best of everything? Is it, in fact, the best. Why can’t we just make the best of what we have? All this Reebok, Nike, Adidas, Rolex, Wrangler, Gucci crap makes me sick.

It’s just past lunch time, and I have just had breakfast. Another totally disorganised day, but that the way I enjoy life.

Time for a nap.

Later.

