Friday 13th is just an excuse to lumber us with two Mondays in the one week. It’s a dastardly plan, one at each end. You suffer Monday, survive the rest of the week, slide down Humpday just to get back to Monday, its a cruel joke.

Yesterday, Fri 13th, was definitely a Monday. My trip to visit The Door was badly planned. I had not given any thought to this damned Rock in Rio and the access roads, which also happen to be main arterial routes, being closed. The traffic was mayhem.

benedictineGot my pay, eventually and went shopping. Found a bottle of Benedictine, of which I am partial, after I had already selected my customary two bottles of wine. Nearly choked on the price, R$134, that’s equal to five bottles of my normal wine price range. But such a rarity here that I couldn’t resist. Temptation is a terrible mistress.

I’ll be making a B&B later. Brandy and Benedictine, love the stuff.

Last night I was walking past the cocktail cabinet with a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and ice, when I spied my bottle of Frangelico, couldn’t help but splosh in a generous measure. Quite pleasant, a new cocktail is born – The Orange Monk.

Cloro has pregressed… yes, from cockroaches to dragonflies. One flew into the house last night creating a terrible racket around the light. This was not missed by the ever-alert Cloro who was immediately transported to an intense state of the curious. For an hour his cute little head jerked to and fro following this strange apparition, until it flew too low, and that was the end of the story; one waggle of the feline hunter buttocks, pounce. I was lucky that he didn’t want to take it to bed, instead we slept together on the inner roll of the toilet paper. I don’t think I have ever done that before, it certainly wasn’t on my bucket-list.

Not Amora, but there wasn't a Blueberry image

Not Amora, but there wasn’t a Blueberry image

Throughout my life I have heard of the American passion for blueberries, jams, pies and the like. Last week searching the supermarket shelves for marmalade, I saw a jar of blueberry jam. Must try, said I.

The price was high, but one must splash out on little luxuries occasionally. R$10…

I must say, I wasn’t impressed. I’ve had it on toast twice now and would have preferred amora (blackberries) or black currant.

I won’t be rushing to buy it again; this is a oncer.

I am not impressed by Twitter’s latest move to be listed on the stock exchange. It piques me to think that other people will get financial benefits of the gullible Twits. I am seriously thinking of chucking it in. I have to get my head around it before making a decision. For me the internet is more of a hobby, and to think that other rich bastards are going to get richer on MY hobby more than miffs me.

Hot day promised, 34°C (94°F), I think that beer will be the order of the day.

Off to put more in the fridge.

Later.

