Cure all

Cure all

Today did not start well.

Still have a belly ache, but it is subsiding with the help of the milk of magnesia that I got this morning.

What really pissed me off today was that I discovered that my digital camera had been stolen. I used it on Saturday, but in my rush to clear up the BBQ I had left it on the table in the yard.

I discovered its absence this morning. It’s pretty obvious where it went as the only person to have been in my house was the laundry lady on Sunday morning who hung clothes alongside the table. Missing also was R$2 in coins I had left on the coffee table; this had happened once before, about six weeks ago with a R$2 note.

I was so rattled after discovering the theft, I couldn’t even nap. Then my afternoon student rang and cancelled. Okay that’s when I was off with a hiss and a roar. I went out for some therapy.

One of these

One of these

I bought some new handkerchiefs, milk of magnesia and then went hunting.

I found my prey after visiting three shops; a nice little Canon digital camera. I don’t feel so bad now and managed a nap when I got home.

Now I have to learn my new camera.

This time I’ll be a little more careful.

Oh, and the laundry lady, she’ll be getting a don’t-bother-coming-back when she turns up next week.

Now all that remains is to find a replacement laundry lady, or I could buy a washing machine; I’ve got the money there to pay cash.

1mensalãoBrazil has arrested most of the politicians and bankers that were found guilty in the mensalão scandal, although one escaped to Italy. It will remain to be seen how long they stay in prison. Some have already applied for habeus corpus, which is used far to flippantly here. Brazil’s justice system is a real mockery. Half of the accused, those sentenced to less than 8 years will start off spending only the night in prison, they will be allowed out during the day. Several more, who were sentenced to lesser terms (2 or 3 years), will never see jail, because they will be serving community based sentences. What a bunch of clowns?

The naughty Toronto mayors loses more powers…

Looks like New Zealand has lost its bid for the FIFA World Cup. Mex vs NZ last week, 5-1; next play off is on the 20th, Wednesday in New Zealand. There needs to be a miracle.

Looks like the beginning of the end, just had a nasty altercation with the bathroom. Looks like the old ENOs ad “If the bottom’s falling out of your world… take ENOs and let the world fall…”

With that inspirational thought.

Later.

