WarningCoffeeAlthough I have been up and down since midnight and had several coffees, this warning is still appropriate.

I had a restless night, up and down like a yo-yo. Also the two neighbouring tomcats decided to have a fight in my carport, which is outside my window.

I have even napped and had a recovery coffee, but I remain philogrobolized, you know, that’s when you wake feeling rough and can’t focus on the world. It’s a sort of petite hangover without the alcohol.

I have discovered that Cloro is a gourmet cat, another of his many talents. On Sunday I cooked a slap dash, cut up some sirloin steak into strips, slapped it in the oven with some sliced onion, water and red wine.

I cooked too much, and have taken to cutting up pieces and feeding him. He loves it. In fact, I think he likes it better than I did.

I’ll have to reheat the leftovers and use the broth to make a gravy and try it again.

I tried to drink the rest of the wine; it was a well priced Portuguese wine. Usually Portuguese wines are good, but this was in the realms of red kerosene; a category that I reserve for wines that end up down the kitchen sink.

It tasted better after having been in the oven with the dead cow.

I was thinking about lag the other day, time lag; particularly in relation to Cloro.

Examples:

Time lag between me lying down for a nap and Cloro comes for tickles; time lag 5 seconds, depends on whether he has to stop for a scratch or lick his fluffy nuts.

Time lag between me stopping the tickles to when he head butts my hand for more; 2 seconds.

Time lag between when I open the fridge and he appears at the door peering in; No time lag, but depends where he was before I opened the fridge, and whether he stops to scratch or lick his fluffy nuts. His appearance in this case is more like magic.

Time lag between a bug flying into the room and he goes from zero to hyper bedlam instantly; once again, no lag.

Time lag between hearing Tomcats fight outside the bedroom window and Cloro flying across the bed and out the window; 1 second, no time to stop and scratch or lick fluffy nuts.

Cats are such wonderful creatures to observe.

It’s a hottish day, temp expected 34°C, the plants are wilting; if I don’t go and water them, they’ll be going to the botequim next door asking for bottles water;or worse, beer. This is a terrible imposition as it means I’ll have to put my shorts on.

housing_bubble2Remember I said a few months back that Brazil was heading for a ‘housing bubble’?

I have been vindicated, an expert in such affairs has said “…market prices and asset bubbles, pinpointed the US stock market and Brazilian property market as areas of concern.”

See, I’m not so silly after all, despite what they say in the bar.

I showed my draft grammar book one of my advanced students last night. Guess what, she wants to study from it. That’s good news.

The reports from Black Friday sales were down by $1.7bn dollars from the previous year after increases in the past seven years. So much for America’s financial recovery.

Venezuela had a power cut last night; blacked out 70% of the country including the capital, Caracas. Maduro is screaming opposition sabotage; obviously it has nothing to do with governmental mismanagement. The local polls this Sunday will be interesting. Maduro was granted martial powers last week, let’s see how/if he represses the peoples’ polling.

During the weekend the Brazilian football hooligans classed after loosing a game. This has got to stop. Football hooligaism is another blight on society. For me, if you’re carrying sticks or weapons in a clash, you’re guilty and we don’t want you in our genes pool.

My afternoon student has cancelled, just one class today.

Off to dewilt my plants.

Later.

