sozzled…again!

The Silly Season is over. I have five days to prepare for the first classes… I can do it!

I am tottering around the house having had only one coffee, I don’t really feel like doing anything.

Yesterday belonged to the wine.

LambruscoBiancaapaltagua-gran-verano-carmenere-rosadoLambrusco Bianca, a frizzante (slightly fizzy) from Italy and some Chilean Apaltagua rosado carmenere; ideal for quaffing.

Both good wines. Went well with BBQed pork and rump steak and my famous ‘what’s-in-the-fridge’ salad.

This time it was chopped gherkins, olives, capers, crystalised fruit, cheese cubes and someMaille à l’ ancienne mustard with a little olive oil to moisten.

You can make wonderful salads this way, just whatever is on hand, chop, mix and stir.

The rest of the day was uneventful, and remained so until bedtime, although I was able to get a couple more blog posts in.

Now I have to face the dishes. The sink is full, they are on the stove, the side board. In fact, I can’t turn around in the kitchen without dishes.

I’ll have a nap, they’ll be there when I wake.

Later.

