someofmyjunk

There, some of my junk. Not that TSA would be interested in my junk, unless they were having an office party…

I am not planning anything today, I expect to be successful. We are into our third week of 40°+C temps, it’s so hot that I forgot to water my plants a couple of days ago and nearly killed some of them, but they recovered. The bushes that line the park in front of the house are all wilting sadly, we badly need rain.

I read a travel blog the other day. It was extolling the virtues of visiting Machu Picchu in Peru and it referred to the “Inca citadel high in the mountains”. It’s not a travel blog that I would have much faith in, because Machu Picchu is in the jungle, mountainous, but jungle. This is actually and illusion that many people have.

I took this photo in 1997

I took this photo in 1997

Yes, it looks like it’s in the mountains. But the altitude is a mere 1,700 metres above sea level.

The staring point for a Machu Picchu trip is Cusco at 3,600m asl, which is indeed high in the Andean mountains, but many don’t realise that when you travel by train to Aguas Calientes, the town below MP, you are going downhill.

maria moleMy shopping yesterday was a success, I now have food. I bought a few extras too, bottle of wine, some Camembert and Brie cheese and I bought some Maria Mole (marshmellow covered with grated coconut).

The pack that I bought, had three white and one pink. Last night I munched two of the white ones, yummy. I don’t often buy such treats, just when I have a hankering. Now, I have a problem; I have one white and one pink… which one do I save until last? Oh, life is so beset with problems!

I have pizza for lunch. Yes, I cheated, I bought a ready made one, but I will gussy it up extra cheese and some bacon. The theme of the day is simplicity.

It’s 11am, I must take a break and put my pants on.

Blogging right along until beer o’clock.

Later.

