a-funny-coffee-quotesYes, I had coffee ready made this morning.

No, waiting that extra eight minutes.

Yesterday it cooled in the late afternoon, and even s few spits of rain that amounted to nothing. That was repeated at 11pm, big heavy rain drops, but again amounted to nothing.

I’ve lost track, but we are well into our third week of high temps, and even the Brazilians are complaining about it.

I feel I must clarify a comment that I made yesterday… When I said “I wish I could do that” I wasn’t referring to Cloro’s nuts as Andrew misconstrued cleverly. I did add a little story about a similar situation to my reply.

The lack of ruffling fur, I have put down to it disappearing when I opted for the clip to be ‘tweaked’ by YouTube to remove shakiness.

It's cooler under the kitchen sink

It’s cooler under the kitchen sink

I’m going have have a <rant>

I have been watching this new pope person carefully. Generally, he’s been doing okay and I have enjoyed his refreshing attitude to many of the antiquated Catholic policies.

But yesterday, he fucked up, totally fucked up.

He spoke about the evils of abortion. Now I’m not in favour of willy-nilly abortion, or abortion as a post-coitus contraception, but I am fully in favour of abortion as a life saving or social measure.

This pope person lambasted all abortion as evil, he totally missed the boat; where he could have pronounced a more moderate approach by the church by, for example, urging the decriminalisation of abortion. I’m not talking about the decriminalisation of backyard-abortionists, rather I’m talking about the women around the world in Catholic countries who are in prison for abortion. The granting of an amnesty for these women. Suggesting to countries like El Salvador (which has the strictest abortion laws in the world) to ease the laws and stop making women criminals. Easing up on situations like the Indian doctor who died in Ireland last year because doctors wouldn’t perform the abortion that would have saved her life.

He talks about the poor, easing up on abortion would go a long way to helping the poor, but then the church needs the poor, denying abortion creates more Catholics. If it wasn’t for the poor there would be NO Catholic church.

Yes, in my opinion, he fucked up and missed the boat.

</rant>

I don’t apologise about the rant, but somethings really irk me.

50follsSAACI got a nice surprise the other day, my blog Some Animals are Crackers achieved this…

SAAC is my newest blog, and the stats are very modest, so it was gratifying to see that 50+ people are following. If you like animals, hope over and have a look, it’s not just ‘cats and dogs’.

Well, my afternoon student has cancelled; it’s too hot to go and pay the bills, so I am going to do the only sensible thing… submit myself to the rigours of beer o’clock.

Later.

 

