Well, we asked for it, and we got it.

At the end of yesterday’s post I mentioned that the sun had gone, well, it had and outside was cooler than inside, so I did the only sensible thing and went to the botequim.

50 Shades of Grey

50 Shades of Grey

The sky was various shades of grey, probably not fifty, but lots; the wind was moving the trees, the temperature had plummeted. I announced that I had come to view the spectacle and was greeted with derision, that it wouldn’t rain. A mere ten minutes into my first beer and the drops began to spot on the cars. The fregües still weren’t convinced despite the lightning and peals of thunder.

Cloro came in from the praça and settled under a chair. I had my beer, an an icecream and the spots continued; indeed, they got heavier.

At 6:30 I went home to watch my early novela (soap). The wind was beginning to pick up; Cloro followed hastily trying to dodge the raindrops.

7pm, the heavens opened.

For an hour we were treated with rain so heavy that I couldn’t see beyond the fence. Lightning flashes were continuous and the thunder boomed close at hand. Ten minutes saw my yard flooded, the power dipped with a particularly close lightning strike but recovered

We got our rain, oh did we get our rain?

It was lovely and the storm just seemed to heighten our pleasure.

8pm and it was all over, drizzle and the occasional flash of lightning.

The sun came out briefly today while I was at the supermarket and everything was fresh and green again. Now the sky has some clouds, and I heard a distant peal of thunder, we may be in for a repeat performance.

I should go to the botequim. It’s the only sensible thing to do.

Obey the directions

Obey the directions

Later.

