mentalblockThese are my mental blocks.

I play with them when I can’t think of anything, actually that is a form of mental tetris, when I can’t fit things together.

This morning I have blogged on all blogs, so I am pretty much blogged out.

I’ve tried coffee.

That just gave me the sweats.

Yes, it’s another hot day. Yesterday broke the 40ºC (106ºF) barrier, with the thermal sensation of 50ºC (freakin’ hot ºF).

I’ve tried iced water, that set my root canal needing tooth on edge.

bananasmoothieI am seriously considering a mind-numbing banana slushie to up my potassium levels.

Can you overdose on potassium?

I have two classes this afternoon, longing for the chill of the air conditioner in the classroom.

After class yesterday, I went out for pizza and cold beer. Waddled off home with a full belly. Notably, my capacity has reduced; I didn’t eat nearly as much as I have been able to in the past. I am losing weight. In fact my belt hasn’t got any more holes, yet.

I am worried.

tabletYes, about the 3Rs, reading, writing and ‘rithmatic. I read this morning about schools that have done away with text and exercise books.

The kids all have tablets. The teacher has a blog, she writes up the lesson as a post and each of the kids have a blog (taught to create) to do the exercise, which the teacher then reads and corrects.

I’m not so sure that I agree. What happens to kids writing skills?

I know we are heading for a paperless society, but what happens if there is no electricity?

Don’t laugh. It’s entirely possible, the national grid has gone down before with severe sunspot activity; although there is a dearth of that at present, leading to the speculation that we may be heading into another Maunder Minimum (1645-1715) which was the period of the Little Ice Age which affected North America and Europe.

Think about what is happening to weather patterns now with this polar vortex that has Americans freezing their bollocks off.

Stranger things are possible.

I have started a new series on They Say it’s in the Genes on Sundays, Bringing up Baby, by Baby. It features amongst other ideas this little fellow.

Party Toddler

Many of the situations are familiar to most of us.

Must get this post in the ‘mail’.

Later.

 

 

