powercutI really did, but before I could type a title for the post, the power went down; and stayed down until it was time to leave for work.

Not only was it our neighbourhood, but all the south and west of Brazil, three million people were without power for over an hour, for the rest it was restored quickly.

When I got home, turned on PC, and it looks as though my backup HD has burnt out – AAAAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!

I spent about two hours trying to coax some life into the beast. I will try again later, because there are one or two tricks left to try.

Yesterday’s intended post was an important one, because yesterday was marking one year since my Mother’s passing. But all hopes of that went out the window.

So, it is today that I reprint my eulogy for my Mother’s funeral. It’s still as pertinent today as it was a year ago. Please bear with me.

It’s a hard thing to say good bye to a mother, it’s also a hard thing to say good bye to your best friend. So imagine how hard it is for me to say good bye to both at the same time. For no doubt Mum was not only my mother, she was also my best friend.

I am present today, although geographically removed. Mum and I had agreed sometime ago that if I was to come back or visit New Zealand, that I should do it before anything untoward happened, not after. So my physical absence is not disrespect; My brother and sister understand that.
Mum was always there when we needed her, she supported us all through thick and thin. I find it incredibly hard to imagine that now she is not and what the future will hold.

I spoke with her on our usual Saturday telephone rendezvous, last week and she was on top of the world, I told her so and she agreed. Our telephone calls were often about trivial matters, my new fridge, the adventures of Lixo (my cat) and my brother’s or sister’s cats, her perambulations around the countryside with her friends and her impending journey with brother and family to Kerikeri, she was quite excited and bubbly about that and I shared my enthusiasm because I knew it was good for her to get out and about.

Although Mum’s health had had it’s problems, she was luckier than most, she had her independence, she could still drive, and this gave her a vitality that many would envy. Okay, she had wobbly knees, but she didn’t let that stop her, she had a zest for life and I think that is what I will most remember.

I am sure Mum dropped by Brazil to say good bye. On Saturday night for me (because of the time zones) the lights in my house flickered three times, the last strong flicker burning out a light bulb and reset my PC. Now here that’s not unusual, but when I went to the shop they hadn’t had a power problem, the bar next door didn’t either, nor my other neighbour. It was just my house.

It was a half hour later that my brother rang. I had had a similar experience when Aunt, my Godmother, went. Coincidence? Or had Mum dropped by on her way? I would like to think so.

Good bye Mum, rest in peace. I am sure that somewhere, somewhen our paths will cross again.

Yes, that’s still how I feel today.

45thermometerThe heat yesterday was preposterous. Here in the west of the city we got 45ºC (that’s lotsºF – about 112).

The humidity was extremely low, so a lot of drinking of water was done.

The forecast has just informed us that the west of the city has 41ºC at the moment.

The bad news it that this current hot spell is due to stay until the 15th with no sign of rain. So we have another ten days. Whoopi!

The Winter Olympics begin in Sochi in two days. I pay little attention to them. I watch the Olympics a little but have no interest in the Winter ones.

It’s time for a nap to avoid the heat.

Later.

