wine-timeSunday, day of relaxation until 4pm, then it’s football.

I have chosen three bottles of wine for today, they may all get opened, although I don’t plan to drink all three (don’t want to add my pickled liver to the menu).

They will be accompanied by an all-day cheese board of Camembert, Brie, local crap, Roquefort, bacon crispies, salami, olives, grapes, Carpaccio rolls filled with asparagus and cream cheese and crackers.

The crackers are whole wheat, so at least that’s healthy. That’s a bit like saying, “I’ll have a giant burger, wings, fries and a diet coke.”

The wines…  a French Blanc de Blancs, a Chilean Merlot Reserve, and a Riesling from the South of Brazil.

The debauchery will start as soon as I have finished blogging, so don’t expect too much more from me today. Although I may wend my way through comments and even answer some.

It won’t really matter what state I’m in for the football (soccer), because the game is between… I don’t know, but the important game (my team Flamengo) was yesterday, Flamengo 2 Madureira 0, which means Flamengo is at the top of the table in the Carioca Championship (Rio state). So the game today is  Fluminense vs Botafogo (I looked it up), while it is considered a classic match, is a matter of interest only.

Sochi is nearly over. I have seen some of the events, the ones that were on the news as being of interest to Brazilians. I have certainly not seen these games as Olympics because of the political implications and the Russian repression of homosexuals. I was also disgusted at the attitude of the Russian deputy prime minister in dismissing the attacks on the Pussy Riot members when they were filmed and I consider a criminal aggression on the part of Cossack security forces. The whole Russian attitude pissed me off and took away any chance of enjoyment or interest.

Mind you, the Russian attitude has been pissing me off for a while now, with their constant vetoing of UN proposals to put an end to the Syrian crisis.

It’s a shame that the games had to be blighted in this manner.

My personal opinion is that games of import (including Formula One, etc) should not be awarded to countries with unhealthy human rights activities. In this I don’t only mean Russia, but China and even the USA with its NSA spying abuses. They are all tarred with the same brush.

I have two more blogs upon which I will caste pearls before the swine, then it’s…

Later.

 

