Not that kind of leak!

Not that kind of leak!

First a reblog of part of a post I wrote on Things that Fizz & Stuff today.

A little nostalgia:

When I was younger, my father grew leeks in the garden, lots of leeks; so they featured on our table simply as a boring boiled vegetable.

My mother was not an imaginative cook. Don’t get me wrong she cooked well, but plainly.

I hated leeks.

I would turn up my nose, gag, threaten to throw up at the table if they appeared on my plate, until the beastly things were removed.

I grew up, and now quite enjoy leeks, even raw in a salad.

There just a little info from my childhood.

beeroclockBeen a warm day and I have determined that the clock is nearing beer o’clock.

But before I go, you lovely people need to be entertained.

I went to work yesterday, despite not having the incentive; and it’s just as well I did, because the bossette turned up unexpectedly. I growled at her, her day is Wednesday and by turning up today she was confusing an old man, was she trying to hasten my demise?

I stopped growling when she reminded me that it was the 10th… pay day, and she’d come to pay me. I had totally forgotten that it was the 10th, that it was pay day; this is surely a sign that dementia is taking hold.

My pay packet should have looked like this…

reais

But it was rather more meagre. Such is my worth. But I was right, she had under paid me! When I challenged her, she showed me her photocopies of the day sheets…

There was a day unsigned. I couldn’t understand it. I raced off to get my originals… and there it was signed! She had taken the copies a day early.

Having suitably humbled my bossette and her promising to rectify the matter, I returned to class, almost skipping as I went.

Well, time has marched on, beer o’clock has arrived, I’ll make like the pigeons and flock off.

Later.

