I woke this morning at 5:30 to find that there’s been a power cut and my PC was struggling, gasping to restart, but something was amiss. Something was missing, a .dll file from the ROOT.

It was rooted!

pirate-copy-18707168I struggled with the beast until I was ready to wring its bloody neck. I had to reload this file, and this file didn’t want to be reloaded. I couldn’t get a peep out of my XP installation disk. I have had this problem before, and decided I needed a new disk. Leaving the house at 8am, I discovered that the sellers of such things as pirate disks at the bus station aren’t as eager to sell them as I was in buying one. I was too early.

Nothing was going to be open until nine. I went and got my haircut; No’ 1 comb all over. I’ll get ribbed about that later. I get my hair and beard cut about four times a year. I tell the guys at the botequim, ‘meu tosa e banho anual’ (my yearly trim and shampoo at the pet clinic).

8:44 and counting… I made, hobbling, it to the Info Shopping (type of mall with many little PC shops) in time for the doors to open. One of the fregües (regulars) from the botequim works there.

XPI left 15 minuts later with a pretty pink disk labeled ‘Com amour e carinho XP’ (with love and a hug XP).

To end a long and complicated tale, I finally got my PC up and running and was back on the air at 10:30.

So, a little blogging and it was time for a nap.

I made springish rolls for lunch, springish because spring rolls are a vege thing, and I added some mincemeat. Watched the news and it was time to renap. The first nap was in lieu of my early rising, the renap was my normal after lunch snooze.

Too much garlic sauce in the springish rolls, woke as thirsty as.

It’s been one of those days, caught with my pants down.

It has been cool and sunny most of the day, but there are dark clouds looming on the horizon. To complete my day it only needs to rain when I walk to work at 5pm.

iPad-KeynoteMicrosoft-Office-ExportMicrosoft-in-the-head has finally released Office for iPad, but there’s a catch, you can read, but unless you buy a licence, you can’t use.

I just read this; “With the much-hyped Windows 8 having experienced lacklustre adoption, we believe investors will be looking for hints or previews around Windows 9 and subsequent updates to Windows 8.1…”

Lacklustre??? means Windows 8 is a flop, as I predicted. I don’t care if pigs manage to fly, unless Microsoft-in-the-head goes back to XP, they’ll starve. XP was the last and best version. Nothing has succeeded since.

The world really needs an organised Linux.

i-must-go-my-people-need-me_o_154653Later.

 

