A moment before a disaster

A moment before a disaster

A quantum moment is a moment of change or the moment before a disaster.

For example, this could be a quantum moment… ah, the disaster option.

An example of a change is like when I am my normal mundane self, then the cats from next door get in the yard and attack Clorinha; whereupon I become some sort of feverish demented devil who seriously wants to maim cats. Nobody, but nobody harms my baby.

I have been trying to further said kitten’s movie star career.

Last night, I tried to film said errant kitten, she simply moves too fast; no idea of poise and dignity.

The moment before she appears outside, she attacked my ankles.

I have no idea of her whereabouts, she could be in the paper bag in the middle of the living room floor, she could be behind my painting project hiding from the neighbour’s cat; I just had a quantum moment…

Found her! Asleep behind my pillow.

After two BBQ days in a row, the air was somewhat fartiferious in my office/bedroom. Clorinha wisely chose to sleep on the sofa.

Here in Brazil, Volkswagon has too models (well, they have more, but for this story) the Fox and the Gol… A quiet moment in the botequim yesterday, a lull in the conversation, and one of the fregües (regulars) commented that a dog with some German shepherd features that had wandered across the veranda looked like a fox… I replied, “Nah,” and everyone present expected one of my matter-of-fact answers, “It’s not a Fox, it’s a Gol.” There was a moments silence as it sunk in before beer was being spilled.

I have these moments; quantum moments.

I am miffed. The Guardian newspaper has changed the look/style of their page, before it was an easy to read three column, down one, up the other and back down again. Now the articles are bigger and spread across the whole screen; absolutely horrid. Before a simple flick of the wheel, and you had several new articles to read, whereas now, you are back-peddling like a madman simply to read the next article. Not at all happy.

Fancy bottles too

Fancy bottles too

Brahma, my beer, has been advertising Brahma Selecão Especial beer produced for the World Cup on TV, but nobody knows where to buy it. They’ve also brought out another fancy bottle that looks like an aluminium can, but at R$45 for five bottles they can keep it.

I’ll be doing a post about that on Fizz on Friday for ‘What beer be this?’

Nkandla

Nkandla, a national shame

South Africa are going to the polls next week, I think it is.

There is a big hue and cry over the incumbent Zuma spending millions of public money renovating his private residence.

I sincerely hope that any new government seize the residence and use it as the official residence for all future presidents, thereby justifying some of the money spent. It is really a bone of contention as people without water and power live just a stone’s throw beyond the security fence.

That’s about it for today, I will return to the tedium… and have a nap.

Later.

 

 

 

