The dreaded lurgy haunted me most of yesterday until I got to the chemist in the late afternoon; Milk of Magnesia, instant relief and I was able to maintain my dignity through the long lesson. My rating this morning would go about 90%. Drinking black coffee and eating nothing.

Now to the title.

This is not a person who eats red meat

One comment on yesterday’s post suggested I could have IBS and the irritation be caused by some food item. The only food item in common with the two was red meat… I am doomed!

Am I to become a vegetarian? Oh, woe is me!

A fate worse than death itself.

Rabbit food forever.

The prospect of not eating red meat is truly daunting for a confirmed carnivore. But obviously it is something that I am going to have to look into.

Another comment suggested a glass of wine as a cure. I like that idea… lots!

Clorinha is well, no re-occurrences of barfing on the caret. She is growing up and getting more adventurous. Since yesterday she has developed a new trick. Runs into the room, off the floor on to the box, on to the shelf, on to the next box, out the window and on to the old stove in the carport; now that all seems pretty ordinary, but when you consider that she does it all in one fluid movement and the time lapse would be measured in tenths of a second. If there was an Olympic event for window jumping, she’d be a champion in the making.

I will try and get a video of this, but I am not hopeful, because the whole sequence would be over before I pressed the shutter  button and managed to swivel fast enough to follow her.

The Twitter Bulldozer

The Twitter Bulldozer

Twitter is stupid! Everyday I get a banner suggesting I try out the new Twitter profile. I dutifully ignore it.

But each day, there it is again. Surely if Twitter had any semblance of intelligence, it would figure out that I am not interested and stop these infernal popups.

Twitter is the only ‘social media’ that I subscribe to, and if they force the new profile on me, it will be the last. I am sick of the bulldozer tactics of these social media arseholes.

A bargepole; used for keeping things at bay

A bargepole; used for keeping things at bay

Up yours Microsoft!

China has banned Windows 8 from ALL government PCs, laptops and tablets. China is 50% dependent on XP, that’s a lot of XP.

China has finally done something right.

Microsoft stopped the support for XP last month, to encourage people to move to later platforms; I don’t care if they dangle a golden carrot in front of me, I wouldn’t touch 7, 8 or 8.1 with a bargepole.

I saw the term ‘super-drunk’ today. I didn’t read the article, but it was in relation to North American native peoples. To me you are either a drinker, a drunk, or an alcoholic. Why invent a new ‘super-drunk’? Oh, I get it now; alcoholics go to meetings, super-drunks don’t…

1908-Ford-Model-T

No recalls that I remember

GM has another recall. What’s with these car makers? Toyota, Nissan, Ford, all have recalls.

Can’t they make the damned things properly in the first place?

I don’t remember Henry Ford ever having a recall.

I think I have about exhausted myself of writer’s blockages.

Just a comment on ‘the dread lurgy’. “The term originates from an episode of the 1950s radio comedy “The Goon Show” in which an epidemic of “The Dreaded Lurgi” was said to be about to sweep across Britain. It turned out that the lurgi was in fact a ficitious disease created by brass instrument makers who had claimed that no brass band player had ever died of the lurgi (thereby increasing sales hugely).

“The Goon Show” was an anarchic and surreal radio comedy series that starred Peter Sellers, Spike Milligan and Harry Secombe. It was written by Spike Milligan and Eric Sykes.”  Source: Urban Dictionary

I actually remember hearing this episode on the radio.

Time to practice my Nap-fu.

Short attention span. Clorinha was sitting in the window enjoying a lovely petting when a butterfly fluttered across the yard, she was out the window and off in less than a blink.

Later.

 

