Off to the dentist first.

Back home, trying to repair the installation that I succeeded in doing at 2am and didn’t work fully.

I was up again before 7am and haven’t managed much until now.

My SATA plug looks pretty much like this

My SATA plug looks pretty much like this

My SATA CD-ROM literally went up in smoke.

Clouds of smoke came from the back. Emergency shutdown and unplugged, the plug was melted and one of the pins is melted into it.

So out of four drives, I am down to one functional; and that’s what it is doing now, functioning.

I have managed to convince it to reformat the old Linux HD, let’s keep our fingers crossed that the reinstall goes well.

Not!

Trying again.

This time doing a full format, that’ll take a couple of hours. It’s a 500Gb drive, so it’s worth saving and getting it to work.

Really Big Dump Truck

Really Big Dump Truck

With everything that went wrong yesterday, for a Tuesday, it was worthy of a Monday.

I feel as if all the shit in the world arrived in one of these and dumped the lot on me.

Blogging has become a little onerous with these PC problems, all the images that I have stored for future posts, are locked in my other drive until I can recover them. So my posts are going to be a bit  thin on the ground.  Also the unfamiliarty of the laptop is not helping.

I have been a naughty boy. Frequently I have used google as a verb, apparently that’s a no no.

Google is frightened that its name will wile away into obscurity and lose its commercial value like Aspirin and Xerox. I am waiting for the ‘net police’ to pounce on me. *shaking in my boots*

I have had lunch. I dismantled five sausages, chopped and onion and some parsley and made hamburger type patties. Tasty. All washed down with a  large beer handle of Chardonnay and sparkling mineral water. I know, I’m  a peasant, but it makes a refreshing food washerdowner.

Rained a fair bit overnight and now it is very cool. Clorinha has found a comfy spot in the middle of the sofa to wile away the day and I am about to do the same thing on the bed. No classes today.

Only about 15 days to go before the World Cup. I’m afraid it’s not going to be a peaceful affair. More about that another time.

Later.

 

 

 

