Funny Cat Pics (294)Most people, or at least people on the net, will be familiar with this meme.

It would have to count among my first encounters with LOL cats.

Last night, well at least 12:30am, as I fluffed up my bed to return to the Land of Nod, I found a R$1 coin on the sheet. I said aloud “I has a money!” Which I find disturbing and raises the question do I spend too much of my net time looking at LOL cats?

Let’s look at the other famous meme line:

Normal people would say…

Can I have a cheeseburger?

Bloggers and other infected would say…

I can haz a cheezeburger?

And for Star Wars fans, Yoda would say…

A cheeseburger I can have?

Language is fluid, it changes, it evolves. It used to evolve slowly; I’ll give you an example from my life.

1894 – My grandmother was born, she used shall/shan’t all the time with abandon.

1924 – My mother was born, she used shall a lot, I can’t remember her using shan’t.

1951 – I was born, I used shall, I don’t think I have ever used shan’t, but I know it exists.

1975 – My daughter was born, I believe she knew that shall existed although I doubt she used it, but not shan’t.

1996 – My grandson was born, I doubt whether he even knows if shall exists, but has never used it, shan’t, don’t even think about it, gone!

So in the space of 102 years, five generations, the use of shall/shan’t has changed.

Now we have the internet, social media and blogs. Language can change in one viral posting. The evolution of language is ever-present, and there’s nothing we can do to stop it; it’s like a speeding steam locomotive… oh, you don’t know what that is…

I rest my case.

So my question is, are we doomed to speak LOLcatese?

This was a 1am thought brought to you without coffee and too many cigarettes.

Now I return to the pit from whence all great thoughts come.

Later.

 

