Oh yes, romance

Oh yes, romance

There is nothing quite so romantic as candlelight.

Candlelight conjours up images of history, learning, and romance.

Reading by candlelight, dining by candlelight, nothing reflects beauty in the same way.

Not the incandescent light bulb, the horrid flourescent tubes, the glaring whiteness of CFLs, not even the expensive improved LED warm glow bulbs can compare with, can’t even hold a candle, to the tallow and wick of the candle.

Last night, I did the dishes by candlelight, none of the above applied as my hands froze under the cold water.

My kitchen light blew two nights ago, yesterday at the supermarket I bought a new CFL, so the kitchen will join the living room and bedroom with glaring, sterile whiteness.

This is the last year of the incandescent light bulb in Brazil, from next year the manufacture and sale will be banned.

They call this progress. I am tempted, sorely tempted to return to the days of the candle.

Pope Francis has often railed against the ‘evil’ of drug addiction and has met with addicts on several occasions. Photograph: AGF s.r.l./REX

I was interested to read this morning about Pope Francis condemning the legalisation or decriminalisation of drugs on The Guardian.

The image that accompanied the article, showed the Pope using one of those incense thingies.

This is a bit hypocritical, what did the Catholic church use in those thingies in the past? How did the church create a state of euphoria in the people who went to church?

Because they used cannabis in them… People who went to church got their jollies from inhaling cannabis fumes. Now, of course, they don’t use cannabis; no wonder membership is falling off. If the pope wants people to return to church, the answer is simple.

UgniBlanc

Ugni Blanc

9:30 and I am thinking lunch, I also have a hankering for bacon and eggs for breakfast.

The lunch I am planning is weinerschnitzel with boiled minted potatoes and cauliflower cheese… The slices of beef are huge, I got three, so I’ll cook off the others and freeze for a rainy day. Planned lunch to be served at kick off for the Argentina vs Iran game at 1pm. There’s a good high chance an Argentine wine could find it’s way to the fridge before hand.

The deed is done, Ugni Blanc Chardonnay from Mendoza.

I’m off around to the shop, nearly out of ciggies; can’t post without ciggies and the botequim has run out of my brand.

Later.

