pms-1

Walt Disney knew something

EIMDBPFPR

Now I know why it’s called PMS.

I must admit that when I was married, I never noticed; I just thought she was always like that and that was the way of things.

But one thing I did learn… when to duck and how fast.

You never know what to expect from this blog. I love to keep my readers guessing.

man-stumbling

WARNING! Stumbling block

My attempts to go viral failed miserably. Although I did break my record, twice.

Belated Likes on a couple of past posts took them over my stumbling block of 15; I got 16 on both.

So, I have a new target.

I have just watched Italy sent packing by Uruguay. A sad game where one of the Uruguayan players bit an Italian on the shoulder and the referee refused to pursue the matter.

 

The standard of refereeing generally has been appalling, many of them need to be recycled, preferably as PET bottles.

Yesterday’s win by Brazil against Cameroon 4-1 despite the dirty play by Cameroons repeatedly marking Neymar. He showed them by scoring two goals of the four.

Brazil’s next game is against Chile on Saturday, at least that doesn’t interfere with classes.

It’s back to work today, after a week off because of the Cup. Then tomorrow off to recover from the shock.

I didn't get a squiggly one, they always make me feel as if I have been screwed

I didn’t get a squiggly one

Finally, after four days of darkness in the kitchen, I borrowed the ladder from the botequim and changed the light bulb. These things take time. It’s not procrastination nor laziness, but one has to seriously consider all the ramifications.

I got a straight one, the squiggly ones always make me feel as if I have been screwed and I don’t need a constant reminder in the ceiling.

Pondering! Why do they make light fittings so high? Not everyone has a step-ladder, but everyone has a chair, so why can’t they be just stand-on-a-chair high?

I learned the other day that the Centenary Light Bulb has burned out. That’s like 106 years. It can be done, our stupid planned obsolescence laws won’t allow it.

I read yesterday that the Sudanese woman sentenced to death for apostasy was released. Then I read this morning that her husband and her kids and her have been arrested as they tried to board a plane to America. Her husband is an American. WTF is going on? Why can’t these overzealous idiots leave them in peace to get on with their lives.

La tienda, a neighbourhood shop

La tienda, a neighbourhood shop

Have you ever heard of Cerro Rico? It’s in Bolivia overlooking the city of Potosí. I have been there and been down in the mines many times when I was a tour guide. I posted an article by The Guardian on Tomus today, The Mountain that Eats Men.

Potosí lives for the silver, it’s a strange town where you can buy sticks of dynamite and fuse at the local tienda along with your soda and candies. In fact the kids can buy it for their older brothers or fathers.

The silver mined from Cerro Rico by the Spanish, if melted could have built a bridge all the way to Spain.

I love Potosí, at 4,000 metres above sea level, it’s really cold at night. It’s a sleepy picturesque town.

Later.

 

 

