Thi, apprently, is a Funky Monkey

This, apprently, is a Funky Monkey

Yes, that funky monkey again.

Last night was brass monkey weather, even more so than the previous day and night.

Not often I have to resort to a blanket on the bed here in Rio, but last night it was essential.

MWPG left a comment about a brass monkey, it’s a Beastie Boy’s song. That’s where the post title came from… Funky Monkey was in the song.

Now, I have heard of the Beastie Boys, but never consciously listened, nor even knew any of their songs. Having now heard the Beastie Boys, I am in no doubt as to why. The cacophony was so painful that I had to switch it off and look up the lyrics to find the connection alluded to by MWPG.

I’m sorry MWPG, but there are some things that should just be put out of their misery.

I am a wiser man today.

I noted the other day (WordPress report) that this blog has 696 followers, wow, great. But as I only get at most 16 likes (that’s a new record) for the posts… I am left wondering what the rest of you are doing with your left hands as you scroll through my words with the right. Because you are certainly not using it to press the ‘Like’ button! I know some of my posts have sex, and some are even perverse, but stop doing that… you’ll go blind.

Why do people complicate simple things? I hit a page yesterday that perpetuated the myth that brass monkeys losing their balls was a reference to testicles. redxcloseIt was a Brazilian blog in Portuguese, I wrote a reply in my best Portuguese handwriting, and then discovered that I had to go through a series of painful contortions in order to post the comment, couldn’t be bothered, so I hit the big red X.

I see that Israel is hell-bent on genocide again. Netanyahu is using this latest round of rockets from Gaza as his excuse. The few rockets that Palestinians are capable of sending does not warrant the sledgehammer tactics being used to annihilate a whole people. And they are looking at getting a bigger hammer. Despite lip-service to the peace protest, Netanyahu is just not interested in peace, he will settle for nothing but extermination.

After the cold night, the sun is out, the washing is on the line and today is the final of the world cup. Then the world can return to normal.

Now if Argentina put this team in the field, would the Germans even be worried about the ball?

Ball, what ball?

Ball, what ball?

What a Messi that would be!

The game yesterday showed that the Brazilian team is getting better again; only three goals against instead of seven. That’s more than a 50% improvement.

I still think the silly hats should win.

Or perhaps FIFA could hold a facing-painting cup…

fans_2936689b

And… the prize goes to the man in the rolled gold trilby and transparent head! Quote from the Goon Show.

I see a suggestion that surfing should become an Olympic sport, why not face-painting? The ancient Greeks would roll in their graves.

Lunch today… Feijoada

Feijoada - you don't want to know what's in it

Feijoada – you don’t want to know what’s in it

Feijoada is basically black baked beans and parts of the pig you never knew existed. It’s wonderful!

Blogging right along. Two to go.

Later.

 

