Who, me?

Who, me?

Apparently this is the main environmental concern with poultry/beef and mutton. I didn’t see a mention about pigs, I presume pigs fart.

The production of methane is the issue.

Then I read yesterday that 66% of British poultry is contaminated with camphylobacter… which causes thousands of dodgy stomachs every year.

Then I read that cows eat grass… well, duh, they’re meant to, humans can’t eat grass; whereas chickens are in direct competition to humans for high quality grain.

What it boils down to is we’re damned if we do, and damned if we don’t.

So, what about human flatulence? Isn’t our flatulence methane, or is it some rosy non-smelly stuff?

Yes, maybe we should be looking at taxing humans who fart

Yes, maybe we should be looking at taxing humans who fart

Now if we bring in the human element and measure against cows, who produces the most methane?

As a parting shot… just be glad cows aren’t raised on garlic and cabbage!

Phew!

.

 Clorinha had a tiring day…

Romping around the praça, visiting the botequim, chasing the boy cats next door; life is just so exhausting.

By 8pm she was zonked on the sofa

By 8pm she was zonked on the sofa

Then she stopped out all night. She came for her nightly boomp when I went to bed, then jumped off the bed and didn’t come home until the third coffee.

Strange plant.

Some years ago, I saw this plant in a neighbour’s front yard and was informed that it had to be grown from a fallen seedling.

Sharing a tin with a tomato and two papaya trees

Sharing a tin with a tomato and two papaya trees

I don’t know what made me do it, but a couple of months ago, I passed one in the street and snapped a twig off it. Once in the water at home on the windowsill, it sprouted roots and I transplanted it. The tomato and mamão (papaya) are self sown from the compost I filled the tin with.

Dark green upper leaf and dark purple underneath.

Dark green upper leaf and dark purple underneath.

Any ideas as to what I am growing?

Fourth blog today, halfway there.

Must blog along on this sunny Thursday morning, then it’s off to town to buy a SIM memory for my new cellphone and off to the supermarket for some therapy. I am going to Extra today, they have Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce and a roasting dish with a heavy base that won’t buckle when I make the gravy like my current one.

Oh, the excitement, sends shivers all over.

Later.

 

