Sperm Bank

Sperm Bank

Puxa, in Portuguese means ‘pull’. Pronounced, pusha.

Terribly confusing for foreigners, while empurre (empoorhy) means ‘push’. Puxa is also used as a polite expression of surprise; whereas those of us of a masculine persuasion, would normally say PORRA! Which is a palavrão (swear word) and actually means ‘sperm’, but used like an English speaking male would use ‘fuck!’

Anyway, moving right along!

My first waking thought a 6:10pm, was Puxa!

One, it was dark; two, it was cold, bitterly cold and I was just in my underwear.

So what happened?

It all started as a pretty normal Saturday. I coffeed, I blogged, I coffeed again, repeat. All the while I was thinking “food’ must get food.” The driving force for this thought was twofold, one, the fridge was empty; and two, I was hungry.

Essentials

Essentials

So about 11am I decided to go hunting, rather somewhat like my hunter-gatherer forebears; I went to the supermarket. Finally.

There I hunted for things to go into my trolley (shopping cart for our American cousins), and gathered them.

I planned to buy only essentials like wine, beer and some food.

Things began to fall into my trolley, a bottle of sake, three bottles of Seleção Brasileira (National football team) beer which I saw for the first time, things that would be considered impulse buying. My Nap-fu skills are only exceeded by my impulse buying skills.

Okay, so going to the supermarket wasn’t the worst part of the day, except at the cashier.

Taxi home.

Oh look! They’re having a BBQ at the botequim! That’s about where things went awry.

I put the shopping away in record time, and headed to the bar. I ate, I drank, I was merry. Then I got conned into tending the BBQ, that often happens as my BBQing skills are also well honed. At 4pm, I left a lonely sausage shrivelling on the near dead coals and headed home to test my Nap-fu skills.

Waking to the thought, “Puxa!

I set about defrosting myself. I made fresh coffee, put on my woolly pants and slowly stopped shivering.

This post was written as I thawed.

So Saturday, came and went before I had a chance to blink.

Despite having food in the fridge, I don’t feel like cooking. So the new pizza shop in the neighbourhood is getting a tryout… again. Now, I am waiting for pizza delivery.

Later.

