Tonight I came home just after 7pm, got a beer at the botequim, when friends pulled me to the side and gave me the news that Clorinha had been run over in front of the botequim. The plastic sack by the lamppost probably held my fluffy Clorinha. I had to confirm, she was still warm.

Still she is warm in my heart.

Clorinha's last photo, taken on Sunday in the praça on my new cellphone

Clorinha’s last photo, taken on Sunday in the praça on my new cellphone

I have just come in from burying her in the praça she loved. She’s beside my neighbour’s fox terrier who was poisoned a year ago. Tomorrow, I will plant a tree on the spot. I have a small goiaba (guava) tree growing in a tin. She loved guava, no she didn’t eat them, when they fell from my other tree she played with them batting them around the yard.

She was known and loved by the regulars at the botequim, endearing herself to them by rubbing against their legs.

Clorinha was my most difficult to ‘potty train’ and she loved to bite as a kitten, it was only in the last month that she stopped her biting, and accepted and sought stroking.

I’ll miss her purring under my chin at night in bed until I fell asleep.

She was a good little companion for a brief time, she was only six months old.

My misfortune was not the only one, my neighbours cat who played with Clorinha was also a victim, we suspect broken legs and facial damage. They are away at the vets with him now. I hope all is okay.

Clorinha loved the botequim. When I suggested, “Let’s go to the pub,” she was the first to the gate, wriggling underneath, waiting patiently for me to make a regular exit by opening the gate. I have posted the video before, but I do it again.

 

