One of my lst Clorinha photos taken in the praça just the week before her demise

One of my lst Clorinha photos taken in the praça just the week before her demise

As most of you know, I lost my Clorinha, and the neighbours lost their cat in two seperate instances just 15 minutes apart. They were run over in front of the botequim.

I observed at the time, how long before a child meets the same fate?

Now our little stretch of road has been asphalted, before it was patchy with cobblestones and patched potholes. Now it looks lovely.

The problem is that before it was a natural barrier, and traffic was mainly careful, although a few idiots drove through like a bat out of hell.

Now, everyone thinks he is a Formula One driver, a few don’t, but the speed of passing cars has increased creating a danger for the kids crossing without looking as they often run from the beco (alley) beside the botequim straight acoss the road to the praça.

This morning we had our first fatality!

Oh no! It wasn’t a child… this time.

I opened the gate to find…

deadfootball
A dead football

A football had met its maker. It was there, outside my gate, with its guts spilled across the apshalt. So sad.

I hope I never see the worst scenario. It would break my heart. Because despite being a velho caduco (grumpy old man) I know all the neighbourhood kids, I know their names, I know their parents.

I have been misled.

For years I was under the impression that the shelf under my PC desk was for kittens.

My cat shelf

My cat shelf

Now someone tells me that it was for computer things like an isolating transformer. How stupid? It was perfect for Hello Kitty’s kittens to keep me comany.

After my first screwed up Saturday, I came home exhausted. I had to pass the botequim before I got to my gate and my GPS wasn’t working. I found myself doing an unscheduled left turn and sat at a table with a beer in front of me. No idea how it got there, but it was wonderful.

Then I went home for Nap-fu and woke to the news that my football (soccer) team, Flamengo, had lost to Gremio 0-1.

I am rather disturbed… okay, more than normal. A comet is due to pass by the Earth tonight/today/sometime at a distance of 40,000 miles. Now that’s a fairly safe distance, close but not close enough to cause grave concerns.

What concerns me is that despite all the technology available today, is that they only discovered this damned thing on 31st August! A mere week ago! Where the hell does that leave us, if in fact it was headed directly for Earth? Right up the creek for survival chances and no freakin’ paddle.

Admittedly it’s not a very big comet, just the size of a house; but something that big travelling at astronomical speeds can punch the planet pretty hard, hard enough to make our sphincters temble.

c480x270_25Furthermore, they didn’t break the news until today, we wouldn’t have even had enough time to kiss our collective arses ‘good bye’! Not even a measely road sign…

For the best view of the end of the world you would have had to be in my native New Zealand.

If I had known, I wouldn’t have got the massive pork chop out of the freezer this morning… what a waste that could have been.

One oink chop

One oink chop, just look at the size of it.

That’s my lunch today, BBQed smeared with chimichurri and BBQed potatoes, black beans and rice. There will be some dead Argentine Ugni Blanc grape juice to go with it. They grapes were sacrificed in 2012.

Sunday is such a lovely day for debauchery.

The time is moving along, it’s now after noon, time to light the BBQ and steel myself for the gluttony feast ahead.

Later.

 

