Based on the old threepence

Based on the old threepence

No, I’m not fitting counters this side of next birthday.

Although I have had two coffees this morning and already made a thermos full for the remainder, I still feel pre-Coffee, which explains why I have a ciggy in one ashtray, and have just lit another…

The Bank of England has called for designs for a new pound coin to be minted to foil counterfeiters. Apparently it’s cheaper than having their own designer paid for by the public coffers. In calling for submissions, they want something that typically identifies England.

The new design is based on the old 12-sided threepence, which people are already refering to a ‘thrupny’ bit.

Typically English… what could be more typical than a pint?

Here’s my idea.

A pint in colour, that'll fool the counterfeiters

A pint in colour, that’ll fool the counterfeiters

So far this morning, I haven’t trusted myself to post on any of my blogs. I have busied myself in emptying my mail box and checking out new posts on those I follow. Having said that, my Thunderbird has just gone beep beep bop, telling me that my efforts have been in vain, and there is now more mail… the wheel turns.

While waiting for inspirration to strike, I have just realised it’s MONDAY!

Something has to happen

Something has to happen

Now as well as waiting for inspiration, I have the added worry of what can go wrong today… Which in turn reminded that the rent is due today. Now that in itself is not a problem, I have the rent, but I have to get into town to pay it; that requires motivation.

Now, I am waiting for inspiration AND motivation.

I think I need more coffee.

BRB

Back…

Oh, that’s wonderful!

The dams are dry, sorry too late

The dams are dry, sorry too late

In recent months Brazil has undergone a severe water shortage, particularly in the state of São Paulo. A report in the news this morning is rather disturbing. It appears that deforestation of the Amazon basin has reached a threshhold The vegetation of the Amazon basin let moisture rise and so produce the clouds that moved across the country and fell as rain. Apparently, there is not enough vegetation left to make suffcient moisture to form the necessary clouds. Brazil’s inaction, or insufficient action, has caused their own demise. Had the country been more prudent earlier, we wouldn’t have these drought problems. Another example of man’s inability to husband the planet effectively.

I should move along, blogs are calling, posts are begging to be written and Thunderbird is telling me there is more mail.

Later.

Warning!

Counter Fitter

