firstgoesmemoryI had three titles for today’s post, I forget what the other two were now, which is why you got this one.

I didn’t have dinner last night. So I woke this morning with the worms gnawing and they needed instant gratification.

First, two bits of toast with requeijão (cream cheese); then two bits of toast with geleia da laranja (marmalade). That’s where the problem was. I bought a new brand of marmalade in the interests of economy, a larger jar at less price. Sometimes it just doesn’t pay to be thrifty. This marmalade was the consistancy of honey, no chunky bits of peel, and bugger all flavour. In fact it was more like syrup. I now have to wait twice as long before I get real marmalade again.

I am still waiting for my techy bloke to come with a standby standby monitor. No that’s not a repeat, I am using a standby monitor, and I need a standby for it.

I also need more coffee.

The cold snap finished overnight. The day is sunny, but not yet warm. It won’t reach Monday’s 39, but is forecast to be over 31. I should water the plants as the rain we got was pathetically little.

The new R$2 note, nearly a dollar's worth

The new R$2 note, nearly a dollar’s worth

Another day, another dollar, as the saying goes, I begin my three day stint of classes. Which tonight means that I will miss a vital episode of the novela (soap opera), things are coming to a crunch. It’s not something that I’ll cry about, the missing, not the crunch…  Beer money is more important.

I also have my daughters coming over for a freebie English lesson after school. I have to print off their lesson yet…

Bugger, the net is down again. It has already happened once this morning…

There, it’s back again. Moving right along…

Australia has had some threats from IS to stage a public beheading of a random Australian. Apparently, they have quite a few sympathisers there of IS. The idea would shake Australians to the core. So far away from the action, and it comes home to roost. They have made some arrests connected with the threat. I find the whole issue of IS quite reprehensible. In Britain, 100 Imams have published a letter to IS for clemency of another British aid worker threatened with beheading. They say that a man who gives aid for suffering should be revered and not killed.

Ebola is becoming frightening. The US is ready to take drastic action against those suspected of the virus within US borders, including forceful innoculation and detention.

pork_steaks

Pork steaks… nom nom nom

Lunch today will be a little fancier than yesterday. I have three lovely fatty pork leg steaks to pund and make pork schnitzel. Probably have one for lunch, one for dinner, and one for tomorrow.

After this post, I might go for an amble about the park. I really need to get more exercise, by then it will be Nap-fu practice until the girls arrive.

Later.

