Nothing much has happened since the last time nothing much has happened.

Which all makes for a very boring post.

My excitement for the day has included:

Put a battery in the clock

Watering the plants

Nap-fu practice

Got the trash ready

All enough to give you a heady rush.

I was going to cook lunch; I looked at the cauliflower, I looked fish, I looked at the potatoes… and that was as far as I got.

spring-around-the-corner1It’s so hot and stuffy. A sure indication that spring is just around the corner.

Actually, we should be having the spring rains. Which means hot days and a flash rain storm in the late afternoon. But we have been three weeks without a meaningful rain drop.

To make matters worse, we’ve only got a week of normal time left, then we do the clock shuffle for hora do verão (daylight savings, summer time, whatever). I hate that. I am a fan of do it and leave it, or just leave it. This annual ritual of taking the clock down off the wall reminds us that we need to dust more often. I just get my bearings fixed on the new time and it’s time to undo my bearings again.

The worst thing about today, is classes start at 4pm, which means I walk to work in the seering sun. It will be worse after we change the clocks, because I will be walking to work an hour after the hottest part of the day.

Last night was a blood moon. I saw it here, beautiful sight.

These can get you killed

These can get you killed

America is so screwed up. Another case of a black kid getting shot. Police say he was armed, bystanders say he was eating a sandwich and had no gun.

It’s pretty hard to imagine a dangerous sandwich… unless it comes from Subway. A gun was found at the scene; where did it come from? Are the police now providing their own evidence to justify killing a black kid?

It stinks.

This is the fourth such case in a month.

I agree with gun controls… Take them off the bloody police!

Ebola is on the advance, a new case of a British man dying in Macedonia. America starts watching for suspected Ebola patients at airports, and Britain is thinking about screening.

At risk of upsetting the French. They have uncovered 200,000 year old bones in Paris, by the river Seine. They are said to be Neanderthal bones… which explains a lot. The British have suspected for years that the French are Neanderthals.

The British police are miffed. There have been a number of cases where iPhones held in police custody for evidence have been remotely wiped of all data. And in another announcement, hard drives taken for evidence can be programmed to self-destruct if placed in an environment (like a radio wave secure bag) where it can’t reach the web.

It’s so nice to be assured that world is on course for auto-destruction.

Which all leaves me with less than an hour to become teacher-like.

Later.

