A dill...

A dill…

A couple of comments yesterday feel that I should do nothing more often.

I would like to. Doing nothing is so relaxing, but I feel that it could be come a permanent affliction.

While it is nice for a change, I do like to be doing something.

I did something today. So it wasn’t a nothing day. I only hope that it doesn’t impair the quality of my post.

It’s another incredibly hot dry day. Knowing that this was to be the case, I watered the plants before they had a chance to wilt.

Then I went to town.

The first thing I bought was a small rosemary seedling. So now I have parsley, sage rosemary and thyme. Love that song.

Then it was off to the ‘sushi’ shop. It’s not actually a sushi shop, but has bulk foods and healthy crap. I got some seaweed, some seasoning, white pepper, sushi rice, and I was taken with a bottle of oyster sauce. I have no idea what it is, or what it tastes like yet, but I’ll experiment. Next I found myself in the street where I was told there was a butchery that sold chorizo (black pudding), I got a kilo (couple of punds). Then I went hunting for a chopping board, I found some, boy they were expensive, R$30 odd. Gave them a miss and bought a new steall serving tray at R$13. Weighed down with my goodies, I went and paid the rent. The morning was wearing on, and at 11am I got a van home.

Unpacked and examined my purchases and had a Nap-fu practice.

Woke at the appointed hour and made lunch. Black pudding, boiled potatoes and cauliflower au gratin. Took that to the botequim to have with a beer and watch the news.

Two hours later, I needed to revisit my Nap-fu exercises, from which I have just woken.

1984Yesterday I read about dystopia. I had heard the word before, but never really knew what it meant. In particular it was in reference to George Orwell’s 1984, the book, and made the comment that such things never happen because they are implausible. How blind can a person be? We are in the middle of 1984 now! Not only that, we have gone beyond the horrors written about by Orwell, and are well on the way to a nuclear war.

I shudder to think about what will happen in the next few years in the Middle East.

Ebola, today in the news Ebola is now in Brazil. A traveller from Guinea arrived in September; 21 days later he was interned yesterday as a suspected Ebola carrier. This hasn’t been confirmed yet, but he is in isolation in Rio and tests are being done. The 78 people that he has had contact with are also under observation. While he has some of the symptoms, but not all, they’re taking no chances. It is spreading. The death rate has now passed 4,000. Britain is furthering the implementation of screening.

The government in Hong Kong called off talks due today, igniting the protests again as thousands take to the streets in peaceful action. The movement has definitely not run out of steam, and the deputy leader has no idea what sh’es doing.

Horrified to read that some schools are removing swings from children’s playgrounds because they are dangerous and can lead to insurance claims. The problem lies with children entering the arc of the swing and being knocked over. Sure there is a danger there. But parents, teachers and caregivers need ot teach the kids how to avoid injury. Hell, if we remove everything that presents a mild threat, we will have kids growing up without a sense of reality. When I was a kid, a bloody knee, a broken collarbone or a bruise was treated the Medal of Honour.

Now I must behave like a teacher.

Later.

