potato…to potato.

I saw this as a meme today and it tickled my fancy.

Yesterday, Beersday, I got bottled. Not seriously but I had a glow.

After I left you, I did, indeed, go to the botequim. There was the usual crowd of drinkers and boasters… and a guy selling fresh cheese and homemade sausages from the back of a pick-up.

Cheese samples were being handed around, which of course went well with the beer. R$15 for a kilo of cheese and R$15 for a bag of sausages. I got one of each. More cheese was cut, I produced a jar of pickled onions from home and we all proceeded to much away.

The day was hot, and more beer was drunk.

The day wore on, and in the afternoon I fired up the BBQ and sacrificed my bag of sausages. They were delicious and appreciated by those that were still clinging to their glasses. The sausages were served with pickled beetroot and homemade chimichurri.

Garlic-ButterThe breadman cycled past, I got 20 breadrolls. Back home, I got a block of butter, a head of garlic and some parsley from my garden. Fifteen minutes later there were garlic bread rolls on the grill.

Now the locals know that I am a chef, they’ve never actually seen me cheffing apart from flipping meat on the BBQ. Things like garlic butter are usually made at home and taken to the bar, but as I had the makings already there, I proceeded to chef away. peeled and chopped the garlic, chopped the parsley and beat the ingredients in the bowl. The onlookers stood there open mouthed at the speed I worked, and how fast there were garlicked bread rolls toasting on the grill. Of course, I was quite willing to show off (I am a bit of a ham) and accept the accolades.

The garlic bread disappeared off the platter as fast as it left the grill.

Had João, the breadman, gone past again, they would have had me making garlic bread way into the night.

While doing all this I got bottled… Various bottles of beer that I had in the fridge migrated to the freezer to get that chill on, you know that layer of ice on pouring.

Now that I have regaled you with yesterday’s exploits, I am about to do the same again today.

Oh, my kilo of soft cheese is salted with rock salt and in the fridge. Salt for three days, wash and turn daily for a month… and yum!

Later.

