…engines on
Check ignition
and may God’s love be with you

Remember those lyrics?

Actually, this post has nothing to do with David Bowie or Major Tom, but rather the coundown to Christmas.

Yes, it’s less than a week to Christmas.

And I’m not at all excited, rather amazed that the year has gone so fast.

Wondering what the new year will bring. Will I stay, or will I go? The future is so uncertain right now.

Tomorrow is BBQ. The lads at the botequim have a BBQ planned. I have meat out of the freezer, I will get more tomorrow after class. Brazilians have no imagination when it comes to BBQ. Oh, don’t get me wrong, they make a great BBQ, but it is always beef, pork, chicken and sausages. I will add pork ribs, liver, pork belly scratchings, chicken hearts and black pudding. If I can find a frozen slab of salmon, I’ll do that in tin foil with capers, lemon juice, cracked peppercorns and olive oil. Of course I will do garlic bread as well.

And basically, that will be Christmas.

Just a couple of passion fruit flowers out today, still no sign of fruit.

I wish to make mention of dedication. A blog that I follow; All Downhill from Here posted a bulletin yesterday. Andrew, was just letting us know that he was out of heart surgery and doing well. The bulletin was posted four hours after surgery. Way to go Andrew! Andrew’s blog is about photography, mainly birds and nature stuff, but his photos are superb.

We’re due for a weather change today. Earlier during my lunchtime beer it was hot, now after Nap-fu practice, it is already clouding over; nothing threatening yet.

Something I didn’t think would happen. FIFA has agreed to release a ‘legally appropriate version’ of the Michael Garcia report, after the author resigned from FIFA in protest at their handling. I guess they knew that if they didn’t, their backs were against the wall with talks of boycotts from many sectors. Boycotts would have meant the end of FIFA.

The Silly Box must surely belong to the American politicians who are threatening to block the thaw in US/Cuba relations. This is really a chance for the US to join the rest of the world, rather than Cuba. Is Obama appeasing the Castro brothers? I don’t think so. To continue the freeze, in my opinion, is now futile, it’s time to move forward.

Here’s a banknote…

Zimbabwe $100 Trillion Dollars

Zimbabwe $100 Trillion Dollars

Now that’s worthy of the silly box, imagine getting change.

That’s what comes of printing your own money… American quantitative easing (QE) was doing just that. Let’s see what happens when all that extra money begins to hit inflation.

Time for afternoon beer.

Later.

