I apologise for my recent absences, but I have found it hard to return to blogging after battling the ‘flu for a couple of weeks. I am hoping the impetus has returned and that I am back to normal.

Now, on with bliss.

There is a recipe for bliss, and it is a simple one.

  • 2 slices of freshly baked white bread
  • 1 slice of generously cut ham
  • Butter (NOT margarine)
  • Coleman’s Mustard (NOT the ready mixed poop)

A ham sandwich is about as close to bliss as I can come.

It has been a favourite of mine since childhood, and in fact is still my favourite sandwich. I have just had two as a late morning snack.

I would love to hear about your version of bliss. What’s your favourite food? What do you consider ‘comfort food’?

Work is increasing. I have taken on some new students privately because the course I work for has been unable to fill my hours of late, and I was tired of having to think, ‘Can I afford this beer?’ This is stress I don’t need in my life, which, as a 60+ year old, I try to avoid. Stress is the greatest killer, worse than heart problems, smoking ills and various other maladies.

Our weather has returned to hot and dry. Despite a feeble attempt to rain the moment I walked out the door to catch the bus yesterday, I didn’t even get wet and found it rather refreshing. Brazilians have this innate fear of rain drops, they see two and run, or up with the umbrella, or slam the windows shut in the bus. When you are on a Brazilian bus, you are already packed in like sardines, to close the windows makes you sweaty little sardines and that is even worse than the rain.

Nice to be back.