There, bet that’s got you running to the Great God Google…

Each team are carried in the manner they deserve

I had this picture sent to me by a Vasco fan, of course, I am a Flamengo supporter.

From top left, clockwise – Vasco, Botafogo, Fluminense and Flamengo.

My only retort was that ‘boiolas‘ (gays) need buses, real men use trucks! While that may have been stereotyping and running the risk of offending a minority, here in Brazil such things are understood, implicitly. There was no returning comment….

Ganhei! (I win!).

Monday again. This is the start of a poor week. Actually two. I have two students less this fortnight while they are in the US for a course. Only one of them knows for certain he is returning to lessons after the trip. So, not many classes., four in fact.

I was up early, 5am; then I was down again, then up again and down again. Now I am up again. It’s been a very up and down type of day.

Israeli Heron Drone

I have, in my moments of lucidity, written/posted on each of my blogs; which has been a rarity of late. Maxine on Monday is always a giggle, then I wrote about the Train that’s not in the clouds, Vietnamese coffee – no that’s not an oxymoron (and a draft for a post tomorrow). I had a good Monday Moaning and wrote a post which will probably get the Israeli’s sending a drone to exterminate me; Shit Happens.

Sometimes things really get up my nose and are more irritating than nose-hairs.

I have also had lunch, fed the cat, done the dishes and…. yes, and….

I was thinking about eremophobia yesterday. I did it in style, with a beer looking out over the park. Loneliness, for sixty years I have had mother, it’s always been comforting. I have never been alone before; mother was always there. Not here in Brazil, but there, at home. After the phone call last Saturday, it may not be for much longer. As the elder in the family, with whom I have little contact, we have never been a close unit, I will be alone for the first time in my life. Not sure how I will handle that.

Still working on the details.

I am a hermit by nature. I have always been a loner. All my sports were individual things, shooting I excelled at, the others were amusements. I traveled alone, I would have hated to have a travel partner to consult, as I tend to make radical and sudden changes to itineraries and plans.

I have now lived alone for four years since I separated from Shirley. I don’t feel alone, I’ve got my PC, all my friends are in there… well, most of them, I have a few in the botequim (neighbourhood bar) next door as well, and some at work. I don’t feel lonely, Lixo P. Cat sees to that; an ankle rub here, a meow there, a bite of the big toe at 3am.

This is new for me, intro-reflection.

Time for my lesson. *Presses ‘pause’ button on thinking*

Later.

