Yes, Lixo is inside tonight, sleeping soundly on my clean clothes. It’s too cold to foray outside in search of love.

Brazil is suffering a mass of polar air over the south of the country that has bought snow to more than 80 cities as far north as Curitiba. Some of these cities haven’t seen snow since the 1940s.

pope1Pope, pope, pope… The news is full of the Pope.

So far the Pope has got lost, red faces everywhere ducking for cover. The popemobile complete with pope got caught in a traffic jam with buses.

The pope has kissed a baby.

Today the pope is resting.

Amusing to note that the political figures in Rio were proud of the money they had personally put up for the big pope party last night. I heard one figure of R$800,000, but it was all for nothing. Pope Francis true to form in renouncing riches, snubbed the party and left after the official bits were over. Leaving the political figures with bloodied noses. When I heard this, I laughed my socks off. Bunch of wankers!

I have now calculated the damages; I lose R$295.50 in wages because of this papal fiasco.

I was asked today by a devout Catholic about my views of the pope, I informed him that I wouldn’t walk across the road to see him. He was shocked beyond belief. I have the same view of any famous personage, politician, president, film star… I’d snub the bloody lot. Far too much bullshit in this world; not enough sharing and caring.

He was even further shocked when I asked him why we are here. His response to worship god was of course predictable. The moment of shock came when I negated his answer and said we are here to provide good compost and mulch for the planet.

An ignoble end, but that’s it; our destiny, regardless of our riches or poverty, is to compost the planet, just the same as the biggest animal, the prettiest flower, or the lowliest worm.

That was the end of the argument, he agreed that I had won the debate. Especially when I made the point that I would get closer to heaven regardless of differences in our piety, because I was fatter than he and therefore able to provide more compost.

I love teasing the devout.

News is about to start; can’t miss more pope, pope, pope…

Later

 

